Skip to main content Skip to footer
Williams Named Biletnikoff Award Finalist

Terrance Williams leads the nation with 151.8 receiving yards per game in 2012.

Nov. 19, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - Baylor senior wide receiver Terrance Williams has been named one of three finalists for the 2012 Fred Biletnikoff Award, presented annually to the nation's outstanding college football receiver by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation.

Williams leads the nation with 151.8 receiving yards per game and has a chance to become the second player in NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision history to eclipsed 2,000 receiving yards in a single season. He has gone over 100 receiving yards in seven of 10 games this season and 12 times in his career.

A senior from Dallas, Texas, Williams set a Big 12 Conference record when he had 314 receiving yards on Sept. 29 at West Virginia, and his 17 receptions in that game were five more than the previous Baylor single-game record. He's led the team in receiving yards in nine of 10 games this season, and his 82 receptions are the second most in a single season in program history.

Williams was named a Midseason All-American by, Phil Steele, and Scout/CFN. He's caught 11 touchdown passes in each of the last two seasons, giving him two of the four best single-season receiving touchdown totals in program history. He ranks second all-time at Baylor with 187 career receptions, 3,020 receiving yards, 26 receiving touchdowns and 4,379 all-purpose yards. He's four touchdowns and 100 all-purpose yards behind former teammate Kendall Wright for the program records.

Williams is joined by West Virginia's Stedman Bailey and USC's Marqise Lee. He's the first player in Baylor history to be honored as a Biletnikoff Award finalist, and the 14th Big 12 Conference player to be selected as one of the final three candidates for the award. With Williams' and Bailey's selections, 12 of 18 Biletnikoff Award finalists since 2007 have been Big 12 Conference wide receivers.

A national selection committee of college football writers, broadcasters and commentators will determine the 19th Biletnikoff Award winner in a final vote held Nov. 29 through Dec. 2. The winner will be announced on Dec. 6 during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, and he will be presented with the trophy at the Biletnikoff Award banquet on Feb. 9, in Tallahassee.

Baylor returns to action at 1:30 p.m. Saturday when it takes on Texas Tech at Cowboys Stadium in the 2012 Texas Farm Bureau Insurance Shootout. The game will be televised on FOX, and tickets can be purchased online at or by calling the Baylor Athletic Ticket Office at 254-710-1000.

For more information on Williams, visit

Big 12 Conference Biletnikoff Award Finalists
1996 - Rae Carruth, Colorado
2003 - Mark Clayton, Oklahoma
2007 - Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech
2007 - Jordy Nelson, Kansas State
2008 - Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State
2008 - Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech
2008 - Jeremy Maclin, Missouri
2009 - Jordan Shipley, Texas
2010 - Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State
2010 - Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
2011 - Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State
2011 - Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
2012 - Terrance Williams, Baylor
2012 - Stedman Bailey, West Virginia



Online Store