Skip to main content Skip to footer
Lake Named Second-Team All-Big 12

Nov. 27, 2007

IRVING, Texas -- Baylor sophomore free safety Jordan Lake was named second-team All-Big 12 Conference, the league office announced Tuesday. Offensive lineman Dan Gay, rover Jake La Mar, defensive end Jason Lamb, linebacker Joe Pawelek and running back Brandon Whitaker were named honorable mention.


A product of Houston's Memorial High School, Lake led Baylor with 120 tackles this season; that tied for the 11th-best, single-season total in school history. Lake's 10.0 tackles-per-game average currently ranks third in the Big 12 and tied for 31st nationally; his average is first in the conference and fifth nationally among defensive backs. Lake also recorded two interceptions, broke up six passes, forced two fumbles and recovered two fumbles this season. He tallied 10-plus tackles in six games this season, including four of the final five.




Gay, a junior from St. Thomas More High School in Lafayette, La., started all 12 games on the Bears' offensive line and saw time at both the guard and tackle spots. He was a part of a Baylor offensive line unit that allowed 21 sacks on 582 pass plays this season for an average of one sack per 27.8 pass plays.


La Mar, a junior from Covenant Christian Academy in Bedford, Texas, was fourth on the team with 67 tackles despite making only three starts on the season. He finished with 5.5 tackles for loss, including 3.0 sacks, one interception, two pass breakups and one quarterback hurry.


Lamb, a sophomore from Berkner High School in Richardson, Texas, led Baylor with 5.0 sacks, which currently is tied for seventh in the Big 12. He started all 12 games and tallied 53 tackles, including 7.0 behind the line. Lamb also forced a fumble, recovered a fumble and broke up one pass.


Pawelek, a sophomore from Smithson Valley High School in Spring Branch, Texas, was second on the squad with 99 tackles, the most by a Baylor linebacker since 1996. He was second on the team with 8.0 tackles for loss, including 2.0 sacks. Pawelek, the 2006 Big 12 Defensive Freshman of the Year, also intercepted a pass, broke up two others, forced three fumbles and recovered two fumbles. He tallied 10-plus tackles in four games this season.


Whitaker, a senior from Santa Fe High School in Edmond, Okla., led Baylor with 913 yards from scrimmage; he tallied 488 yards rushing and 425 yards receiving on a team-best 58 catches, second in the Big 12 among running backs. He recorded five touchdowns on the season, two rushing and three receiving. Whitaker established Baylor running back records for receptions in a season and in a single game (11).


Missouri quarterback Chase Daniel was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Colorado linebacker Jordon Dizon was selected Defensive Player of the Year. Kansas' Mark Mangino was honored as Coach of the Year.


Other player of the year award winners were Kansas' Marcus Herford (special teams), Missouri's Meremy Maclin and Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree (co-offensive freshman), Oklahoma's Gerald McCoy (defensive freshman), Kansas State Deon Murphy (offensive newcomer), Kansas State's Gary Chandler (defensive newcomer), Missouri's Adam Spieker and Texas A&M's Cody Wallace (co-offensive lineman), and Kansas' James McClinton (defensive lineman).

Online Store