Skip to main content Skip to footer
Montgomery Named One of 40 Nominees for 2013 Broyles Award

Nov. 27, 2013

WACO, Texas - Baylor Offensive Coordinator Philip Montgomery was named one of 40 assistant coaches in the country as a nominee for the 2013 Broyles Award, the Rotary Club of Little Rock announced on Wednesday.

One of two coaches in the Big 12 up for the accolade (Oklahoma State Defensive Coordinator Glenn Spencer) that honors the top assistant college football coach in America, Montgomery has led Baylor's historic 2013 offensive run. The Bears currently lead the nation with 56.8 points per game and 661.6 yards per game - both numbers are on pace to break NCAA records.

In his sixth season as offensive coordinator at Baylor, Montgomery's offense has helped BU get off to a 9-1 start to the season for the first time since 1980 and a 6-1 league start for the first time since 1985. The Bears are ranked No. 9 in the AP Top 25 and the BCS Standings and No. 8 in the USA Today Coaches Poll.

Under Montgomery's guidance, the BU offense also leads the country in yards per play (8.19), passing efficiency rating (189.38) and passing yards per completion (18.45). Additionally, Baylor's 77 total touchdowns are on pace to set a new school record and its 41 rushing TDs have already set a new school record. The Bears' 381.9 passing yards per game and 279.7 rushing yards per game rank fourth and ninth in the nation, respectively.

Several players have enjoyed stellar 2013 seasons thus far in Montgomery's offense. Quarterback Bryce Petty leads the country with 18.62 yards per completion and ranks second in passing efficiency rating (194.1) - both numbers are on pace to break NCAA records. Petty ranks fourth in the country in points responsible for per game (21.6), fifth in passing yards per game (335.1) and 12th in passing touchdowns (26).

Running backs Lache Seastrunk (111.0) and Shock Linwood (93.4) rank 17th and 34th, respectively, in the nation in rushing yards per game. Wide receivers Antwan Goodley (119.3) and Tevin Reese (103.0) rank fourth and 14th, respectively, in the nation in receiving yards per game. Goodley (12) and Reese (8) also rank fourth and 32nd, respectively, in the nation in receiving touchdowns, despite Reese being injured for the rest of the regular season during the Oklahoma win on Nov. 7.



The 2013 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 10 at 11:30 a.m. at the Marriott Hotel in Little Rock, Ark. The Broyles Award is presented by The Rotary Club of Little Rock. The winner of the 2012 Broyles Award was Bob Diaco, Notre Dame.

The Broyles Award was established in 1996 to honor legendary Arkansas Head Coach Frank Broyles. Coach Broyles had a track record of producing some of the most successful assistant coaches in college football history. The award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence.

For more information, visit To stay current on all things Baylor Football, follow the team on Twitter: @BUFootball.


Online Store