Skip to main content Skip to footer
Ten Football Players Named AP All-Big 12

Dec. 2, 2010

IRVING, Texas - Seniors Danny Watkins and Byron Landor headlined a group of 10 Baylor players named to the Associated Press all-Big 12 football teams on Thursday.

Watkins and Landor were first-team honorees, marking the third straight season in which Baylor has had multiple members on the AP all-Big 12 first team. Missouri, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State and Nebraska joined the Bears as the only Big 12 programs with multiple first-team honorees.

Defensive tackle Phil Taylor was named to the second team, while center Philip Blake, wide receiver Kendall Wright, defensive end Tevin Elliott, running back Jay Finley, quarterback Robert Griffin III, linebacker Antonio Johnson and punter Derek Epperson were honorable mention selections.

A native of Kelowna, B.C., Watkins joined the Baylor program after two years at Butte (Calif.) College, where he enrolled due to interest in the school's fire academy. The former firefighter and hockey player has started at left tackle in all 24 games of his Baylor career.

Watkins leads and offensive line that ranks second in the Big 12 in sacks against and third in rushing offense. He has averaged a coaches' grade of 90 percent and recorded 122 knockdowns during the 2010 season.

Landor, a Lake Charles, La. native, also joined the Bears as a junior college transfer. The senior safety played at Blinn College in 2007 and 2008. Landor played in 11 of 12 games, making three starts in 2009 before starting every game during the 2010 season.

Landor became the first player in program history to earn Big 12 Conference Defensive Player of the Week honors twice in the same season when he was honored on Oct. 18 and Nov. 1. He ranks second in the nation among non-linebackers with 115 tackles, and he has seven games with double-digit tackles, including a pair of 15-plus tackle efforts.

Taylor, a senior from College Park, Md., has 52 tackles, more than any other Baylor defensive lineman had during the 2009 season, and ranked second on the team with 7.0 tackles for loss. He has also recorded a pair of sacks, forced a fumble and broke up two passes.

Baylor (7-5, 4-4 Big 12) is expected to make its first bowl appearance since the 1994 Alamo Bowl. The Bears, who are bowl eligible for the first time since 1995, are expected to accept their bowl bid on Sunday. To pre-order tickets for the bowl game, visit or call the Baylor Athletics Ticket Office at 254-710-1000.

Byron Landor, S (1st)
Danny Watkins, OT (1st)
Phil Taylor, DT (2nd)
Philip Blake, C (HM)
Tevin Elliott, DE (HM)
Derek Epperson, P (HM)
Jay Finley, RB (HM)
Robert Griffin III, QB (HM)
Antonio Johnson, LB (HM)
Kendall Wright, WR (HM)


2010 Byron Landor, S
Danny Watkins, OT
2009 Derek Epperson, P
Jordan Lake, FS
Joe Pawelek, LB
2008 Jordan Lake, FS
Joe Pawelek, LB
Jason Smith, OT
2006 Daniel Sepulveda, P
2005 Daniel Sepulveda, P
2004 Daniel Sepulveda, P
2000 Gary Baxter, DB
1996 Ty Atteberry, P



Online Store