Skip to main content Skip to footer
Football Accepts Invite to Valero Alamo Bowl


WACO, Texas - Baylor has accepted an invitation to play in the 2011 Valero Alamo Bowl at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas, marking the school's first back-to-back bowl trips since the 1991 and 1992 seasons.

"On behalf of Baylor University, the Board of Regents, President Starr, Coach Briles and our football program, it is a great honor to accept an invitation to participate in the Valero Alamo Bowl," director of athletics Ian McCaw said. "We are very excited about playing in such a prestigious and highly respected bowl game and look forward to Baylor Nation rising up to fill the stands."

Baylor, ranked 12th in the BCS and 15th in the AP poll, will face Washington from the Pac-12 Conference when the Alamo Bowl is played at 8 p.m. CST on Dec. 29, 2011. The game will be televised live nationally on ESPN.

"We're pumped to get to extend our season at the Alamo Bowl in a great city and a great stadium in football-crazed South Texas. We're so happy for our fans, that they'll be able to show up in mass support. We're proud that our players get the opportunity to play a really good Washington team from the Pac-12 and that they get to represent the Big 12."

Baylor (9-3, 6-3 Big 12) concluded its most successful regular-season since 1986 by compiling nine wins, topped off with a 48-24 victory over 22nd ranked Texas Saturday. The Bears feature an explosive offense ranked second nationally (571 ypg) and boasts the most prolific passer (Robert Griffin III), rusher (Terrance Ganaway) and receiver (Kendall Wright) in school history. Griffin III is a Heisman candidate and leads an offense that has set or tied 53 individual and team records.

Baylor is allotted 12,500 tickets for the 2011 Valero Alamo Bowl. The tickets, which are priced at $95 (club level and lower level) and $65 (upper level) may be purchased by Baylor Bear Foundation members and 2011 season ticket holders online at, by calling the Baylor Athletic Ticket Office at 254-710-1000 or in person at the Ferrell Center box office from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Bear Foundation members and season ticket holders must place their orders by 5 p.m. on Dec. 6.

If any tickets remain from the Baylor allotment, they will be available beginning at 8:30 a.m. on Dec. 8, on a first-come, first-served basis.

Baylor students may purchase tickets to the 2011 Valero Alamo Bowl Dec. 8-9 and Dec. 12-14 in the Bill Daniel Student Center Ticket Office. Student tickets, which cost $65, may be purchased from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m., Dec. 8-9 and Dec. 12-14, or until supplies are exhausted. All student tickets will be allocated on a first-come, first-serve basis. Student pick-up instructions will be given at the time of purchase.

Baylor fans interested in travel packages for Baylor's trip to San Antonio for the 2011 Valero Alamo Bowl may sign up for information with Anthony Travel. Travel options will be sent via email from Baylor's travel partner as soon as they become available.

• Baylor has its first 9-win season since 1986 (9-3) & is looking for its second 10-win season in program history (1980, 10-2).
• Baylor is riding a 5-game winning streak, its longest since starting the 1991 season 5-0. Its last 6-game winning streak came over the last five games of 1986 and the first game of 1987.
• Baylor's powerful & balanced offense leads the nation in passing efficiency (194.05) & 1st downs (28.67), ranks 2nd in total offense (571.25), 5th in passing (356.17), 6th in scoring (43.5) and 18th in rushing (215.08).
• Baylor beat Oklahoma and Texas in the same season for the first time in program history.
• According to the latest strength of schedule rankings by the NCAA, Baylor has the 8th-toughest schedule in FBS.
• Baylor has been ranked in the AP Top 25 poll for 11 weeks this season -- the most since being ranked 12 weeks in 1951.
• Baylor has scored 40+ points in 8 of 12 games this season and is 8-0 when scoring at least 40 points.
• Heisman Trophy candidate QB Robert Griffin III (Walter Camp, Manning, O'Brien, Unitas & Wuerffel finalist) leads the nation in passing efficiency (192.31) and is on pace to break the NCAA single-season record (186.0 by Hawai`i QB Colt Brennan in 2006).
• RG3 is 1 of 3 players in FBS history with 10,000+ passing & 2,000+ rushing yards (Dan LeFevour, Colin Kaepernick).
• IR Kendall Wright ranks 2nd nationally in receiving yards (1,572) and 6th in receptions (101) & receiving TDs (13).
• RB Terrance Ganaway leads the Big 12 and ranks 14th nationally with 1,347 rushing yards & t-11th with 16 rushing TDs.

• This year's game will be the 19th-annual Valero Alamo Bowl.
• The bowl has hosted a team from the Big 12 Conference in every season since the league's inception in 1996.
• The Alamo Bowl has sold out in three of the last five seasons.
• The Alamo Bowl has been played after every season since 1993, but there was not technically a 2009 Alamo Bowl, because the game following the 2009 regular season was played on Jan. 2, 2010. With last season's Alamo Bowl on Dec. 29, there were technically two editions of the 2010 Alamo Bowl.
• This year's game will mark the second time a Big 12 team has faced a team from the Pac-12 in the Alamo Bowl - the only previous time came when Oklahoma State won 36-10 against Arizona in the second 2010 Alamo Bowl (Dec. 29, 2010).
• Teams representing the Big 12 Conference have won the last three Alamo Bowl games, and the league is a combined 7-8 in the Alamo Bowl.
• Baylor's only previous appearance in the Alamo Bowl was a 10-3 loss to Washington State in the 1994 Alamo Bowl - that was Baylor's last bowl game before the Bears snapped a 16-year drought with a 2010 Texas Bowl bid.
• Oklahoma, Iowa State and Kansas are the only current Big 12 programs to have never played in the Alamo Bowl.
• The 2011 Valero Alamo Bowl will be televised internationally on ESPN HD as well as heard on ESPN Radio.

• 2010 - Oklahoma State 36, Arizona 10
• 2010 - Texas Tech 41, Michigan State 31
• 2008 - Missouri 30, Northwestern 23
• 2007 - Penn State 24, Texas A&M 17
• 2006 - Texas 26, Iowa 24
• 2005 - Nebraska 32, Michigan 28
• 2004 - Ohio State 33, Oklahoma State 7
• 2003 - Nebraska 17, Michigan State 3
• 2002 - Wisconsin 31, Colorado 28
• 2001 - Iowa 19, Texas Tech 16
• 2000 - Nebraska 66, Northwestern 17
• 1999 - Penn State 24, Texas A&M 0
• 1998 - Purdue 37, Kansas State 34
• 1997 - Purdue 33, Oklahoma State 20
• 1996 - Iowa 27, Texas Tech 0
• 1995 - Texas A&M 22, Michigan 20
• 1994 - Washington State 10, Baylor 3
• 1993 - California 37, Iowa 3



Online Store