Skip to main content Skip to footer
Football Places 15 on All-Big 12 Teams

Cyril Richardson is Baylor's first-ever Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Dec. 5, 2012

IRVING, Texas – Baylor placed 15 players on the All-Big 12 football teams, as voted on by the league’s coaches and announced by the Big 12 Conference office Wednesday. Three Bears earned individual awards, and Terrance Williams and Cyril Richardson were selected to the first-team offense.

Sophomore running back Lache Seastrunk was tabbed Big 12 Offensive Newcomer of the Year, Richardson earned Offensive Lineman of the Year and senior quarterback Nick Florence won the inaugural Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. Seastrunk and Richardson are the first players in program history to earn their respective honors.

In addition to Williams – a Biletnikoff Award finalist – and Richardson on the first team, Bryce Hager was selected as a second-team linebacker, marking the fourth straight year the Bears have had at least three players named to the first or second teams.

Williams leads the nation with 1,764 receiving yards, which is a school record, and his 95 receptions and 12 receiving touchdowns are both second most in a single-season in program history.

Richardson paves the way for the nation’s No. 1 offense in total yards (578 ypg). The Bears’ balanced attack ranks third nationally in passing (353 ypg) and 19th in rushing (226 ypg), making Baylor one of three programs nationally (Louisiana Tech, Texas A&M) ranked in the top 20 in both rushing and passing offense.

Hager leads the Big 12 and ranks 26th nationally with 9.6 tackles per game. His 115 tackles are 11 shy of cracking Baylor’s all-time single-season top-10 list, and he’s tied for 10th in the Big 12 with 8.0 tackles for loss and tied for 13th with 3.0 sacks.

Baylor’s 12 student-athletes named honorable mention All-Big 12 were: sophomore OL Troy Baker, junior LB Ahmad Dixon, Florence, junior PK Aaron Jones, senior OL Cameron Kaufhold, junior LB Eddie Lackey, junior DL Terrance Lloyd, junior TE Jordan Najvar, junior WR Tevin Reese, senior WR Lanear Sampson, Seastrunk and senior OL Ivory Wade.

Additionally, Lackey received honorable mention for Defensive Newcomer of the Year and Williams was honorable mention Offensive Player of the Year.

Baylor (7-5, 4-5 Big 12) closes the 2012 season by facing UCLA (9-4, 6-3 Pac-12) in San Diego’s Bridgepoint Education Holiday Bowl. The Bears will be appearing in a bowl game for a third straight season for the first time in program history. The Holiday Bowl is scheduled for 8:45 p.m. CT on Dec. 27 at Qualcomm Stadium. For more information, visit

Cyril Richardson, OL, first team; Offensive Lineman of the Year
Terrance Williams, WR, first team; honorable mention Offensive Player of the Year
Bryce Hager, LB, second team
Troy Baker, OL, honorable mention
Ahmad Dixon, LB, honorable mention
Nick Florence, QB, honorable mention; Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Aaron Jones, PK, honorable mention
Cameron Kaufhold, OL, honorable mention
Eddie Lackey, LB, honorable mention; honorable mention Defensive Newcomer of the Year
Terrance Lloyd, DL, honorable mention
Jordan Najvar, TE, honorable mention
Tevin Reese, WR, honorable mention
Lanear Sampson, WR, honorable mention
Lache Seastrunk, RB, honorable mention; Offensive Newcomer of the Year
Ivory Wade, OL, honorable mention



Online Store