Skip to main content Skip to footer
Football Lands 11 on AP All-Big 12 Teams

Cyril Richardson

Dec. 5, 2012

WACO, Texas - Baylor junior offensive guard Cyril Richardson and senior wide receiver Terrance Williams headline a group of 11 BU players named to the 2012 Associated Press All-Big 12 Football Teams on Wednesday.

Both Richardson and Williams were first-team selections, while sophomore running back Lache Seastrunk was chosen as the Offensive Newcomer of the Year. The Bears also had three members on the second team, including sophomore linebacker Bryce Hager, junior linebacker Eddie Lackey and senior offensive lineman Ivory Wade.

The five total honorees on the AP first-and-second teams are the most for Baylor in the Big 12 era, while the three second-team picks are the most since 2004.

Additionally, six Baylor playrs were named honorable mention All-Big 12: junior LB Ahmad Dixon, senior QB Nick Florence, senior OL Cameron Kaufhold, junior TE Jordan Najvar, Seastrunk and junior CB Joe Williams.

Richardson is the fourth Baylor offensive lineman in the last five years to earn first or second-team honors from the AP. The other three Bears - Jason Smith (2008), Danny Watkins (2010) and Philip Blake (2011) - all went on to be drafted in the first four rounds of the NFL Draft.

At the offensive guard position, Richardson is a key cog in Baylor's offensive success, having started 25 consecutive games. BU leads the nation in total yards (578 ypg), while ranking third nationally in passing (353 ypg) and 19th in rushing (226 ypg).

As a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award, Williams leads the nation with 1,764 receiving yards, which is a school record, and his 95 receptions and 12 receiving touchdowns are both second most in a single-season in program history. He also set Baylor's single-game records with 17 receptions and 314 receiving yards at West Virginia.

Hager leads the Big 12 and ranks 26th nationally with 9.6 tackles per game. His 115 tackles are a team-best and he's tied for 10th in the Big 12 with 8.0 tackles for loss and tied for 13th with 3.0 sacks.

Lackey has twice been named the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week. On the season, he has 99 tackles and a team-leading four interceptions.

Wade moved into the starting center position over the spring, but has started along the offensive line in 42 straight contests. He has helped make Baylor one of three programs nationally (Louisiana Tech, Texas A&M) ranked in the top 20 in both rushing and passing offense.

Seastrunk has 874 yards rushing on the year on 115 attempts for a 7.6 yards-per-carry average. He has six rushing touchdowns, including two of 75-yards or more.

The Associated Press All-Big 12 team is selected by a panel of 18 sports writers who regularly cover the league for newspapers throughout the league's five states.

Baylor (7-5, 4-5 Big 12) will now play in the 2012 Bridgepoint Education Holiday Bowl vs. UCLA (9-4, 6-3 Pac-12) in San Diego on Dec. 27. The Bears will be appearing in a bowl game for a third straight season for the first time in program history. The contest is slated for an 8:45 p.m. CT kick from Qualcomm Stadium. For more information, visit

Cyril Richardson, OL, first team
Terrance Williams, WR, unanimous first team
Bryce Hager, LB, second team
Eddie Lackey, LB, second team
Ivory Wade, OL, second team
Ahmad Dixon, LB, honorable mention
Nick Florence, QB, honorable mention
Cameron Kaufhold, OL, honorable mention
Jordan Najvar, TE, honorable mention
Lache Seastrunk, RB, honorable mention, Offensive Newcomer of the Year
Joe Williams, CB, honorable mention



Online Store