Skip to main content Skip to footer
Football Places 17 on All-Big 12, RG3 Offensive POY

Robert Griffin III first Baylor player to win the Big 12's Offensive Player of the Year award.

Dec. 7, 2011

Complete List of All-Big 12 Honors

IRVING, Texas - Robert Griffin III was named Big 12 Conference Offensive Player of the Year, Baylor placed four players on the All-Big 12 first-team offense and the Bears had 17 total honorees, as voted on by the league's coaches and announced by the conference office Wednesday.

Griffin III, a junior Heisman Trophy finalist, was also named Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year by the AP on Wednesday. He is the first Baylor player to win the Big 12's Offensive Player of the Year award and the first Bear to win one of the league's major individual awards since Daniel Sepulveda was named Special Teams Player of the Year in 2006. RG3 was an honorable mention Offensive Player of the Year last season and won Big 12 Offensive Freshman of the Year in 2008.

Seniors Kendall Wright, Terrance Ganaway and Philip Blake joined RG3 on the first-team offense. The Bears also placed senior Robert T. Griffin on the second-team offense and senior Nicolas Jean-Baptiste on the second-team defense, giving Baylor a school-record six players on the first and second teams. Wright was one of five unanimous first-team selections this season after being named second-team All-Big 12 along with RG3 a season ago.

Head coach Art Briles was named honorable mention Coach of the Year for the second straight season, and Baylor had 11 student-athletes named honorable mention All-Big 12.

Prior to this season, Baylor never had more than two first-team selections in a season and the Bears combined for a total of two first-team selections in the conference's first eight years. Baylor's only previous player to make the first-team offense was Jason Smith in 2008 - nine of 10 all-time first-team selections for the Bears came on defense or special teams.

Baylor's 11 student-athletes named honorable mention All-Big 12 were: senior Elliot Coffey, juniors Mike Hicks and Terrance Williams, sophomores Ahmad Dixon, Tevin Elliott, Sam Holl, K.J. Morton, Jordan Najvar, Tevin Reese, Cyril Richardson and Erik Wolfe were honored.

No. 12 Baylor (9-3, 6-3) closes out the 2011 season by taking on Washington (7-5, 5-4) in the Valero Alamo Bowl at 8 p.m. CST on Dec. 29 at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. For more information, visit

Robert Griffin III, QB, first team; Offensive Player of the Year
Philip Blake, OL, first team
Terrance Ganaway, RB, first team
Kendall Wright, WR, first team
Robert T. Griffin, OL, second team
Nicolas Jean-Baptiste, DL, second team
Art Briles, head coach, honorable mention Coach of the Year
Elliot Coffey, LB, honorable mention
Ahmad Dixon, LB, honorable mention
Tevin Elliott, DL, honorable mention
Mike Hicks, DB, honorable mention
Sam Holl, DB, honorable mention
K.J. Morton, DB, honorable mention
Jordan Najvar, TE, honorable mention
Tevin Reese, WR, honorable mention
Cyril Richardson, OL, honorable mention
Terrance Williams, WR, honorable mention
Erik Wolfe, FB, honorable mention



Online Store