Skip to main content Skip to footer
Griffin III Wins Davey O'Brien Award

RG3 is the third player in Baylor football history to win a major individual award.

Dec. 8, 2011

ORLANDO, Fla. – Baylor junior quarterback Robert Griffin III was announced as the winner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award during Thursday night’s ESPN College Football Awards Show.

RG3 is the first Baylor quarterback to win a major national award and the third player in program history to win one of college football’s major awards, joining Thomas Everett (1986 Jim Thorpe Award) and Daniel Sepulveda (2004 and 2006 Ray Guy Awards).

Baylor linebacker Mike Singletary won the Davey O’Brien Memorial Trophy in 1979 and 1980, when the award was presented to the most outstanding player in the Southwestern states of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas. Since 1981, the Davey O’Brien Award has been presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate quarterback.

RG3 was chosen as the award’s recipient after voting by The O’Brien National Selection Committee. Other finalists were Houston’s Case Keenum and Stanford’s Andrew Luck. The committee was asked to consider quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship. Griffin III garnered 5 percent of the vote by winning the fan vote with more than 35,000 of nearly 69,000 votes cast online.

RG3, a Heisman Trophy finalist and second-team Walter Camp All-American, leads the nation with a 192.31 passing efficiency and 22.67 points responsibility per game. He is on pace to break the NCAA single-season pass efficiency record, set by Hawai’i quarterback Colt Brennan in 2006 (186.0).

Griffin III was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year and first-team All-Big 12 by The Associated Press and Big 12 coaches. He ranks second nationally with 386.83 total offense yards per game and fourth with 36 passing touchdowns. In addition to a school-record 3,998 passing yards, RG3 has rushed for 644 yards and nine touchdowns, giving him 45 touchdowns accounted for – more than 69 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) offenses.

RG3 has led Baylor to its first nine-win season since 1986 and a Valero Alamo Bowl bid – its second consecutive bowl appearance for the first time since 1991-92. The Bears have a shot to tie the program record with 10 wins in a season. Baylor went 10-2 and won the 1980 Southwest Conference title.

The Bears’ current five-game winning streak is their longest since starting the 1991 season 5-0, and their six Big 12 wins this season are two more than the previous school record set with four wins a year ago. Baylor went 4-0 in Big 12 play the month of November, equally their November Big 12 wins total from the first 15 years of the league combined.

RG3 has been named Big 12 Conference Offensive Player of the Week a school-record three times this season – after leading the Bears to wins over then-No. 14 TCU, then-No. 5 Oklahoma and then-No. 22 Texas. He’s the first Baylor player ever invited to New York for the Heisman Trophy presentation, which will be held Saturday night.

For more information on RG3, visit, and and follow @RG3forHeisman on Twitter.

No. 12 Baylor (9-3, 6-3) closes out the 2011 season by taking on Washington (7-5, 5-4) in the Valero Alamo Bowl at 8 p.m. CST on Dec. 29 at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. Baylor has sold out its allotment of tickets for the game, but tickets can still be purchased through For more information on Baylor and the Valero Alamo Bowl, visit

Baylor’s Major Individual Award Winners
Thomas Everett, 1986 Jim Thorpe Award
Daniel Sepulveda, 2004 Ray Guy Award
Daniel Sepulveda, 2006 Ray Guy Award
Robert Griffin III, 2011 Davey O’Brien Award



Online Store