Skip to main content Skip to footer
Football Places 11 on AP All-Big 12 Teams

Antwan Goodley

Dec. 9, 2013


WACO, Texas - A school-record 11 Baylor football student-athletes were named to The Associated Press All-Big 12 teams, the organization announced Monday.

Junior quarterback Bryce Petty was named the AP's Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year and a unanimous first-team selection. Offensive lineman Cyril Richardson and wide receiver Antwan Goodley joined Petty as unanimous first-team members, while running back Lache Seastrunk, linebacker Eddie Lackey and punter Spencer Roth gave the Bears a total of six first-team honorees.

Six first-team selections are the most for Baylor in the Big 12 era, surpassing the three first-team selections in 2008 and 2009.

Additionally, five Baylor players were named All-Big 12 second team: senior S Ahmad Dixon, sophomore OL Spencer Drango, junior LB Bryce Hager, senior DL Chris McAllister and senior WR Tevin Reese.

Five second-team selections are also a Big 12 era record for the Bears, besting the three honorees in 2004.

Petty is the first Baylor player to be named AP Offensive Player of the Year since Robert Griffin III did so in 2011. This year, the junior signal caller has passed for 320.3 yards per game and 30 touchdowns, while completing 61.8 percent of his passes. He leads the country by racking up 17.47 yards per completion and is second with a passing efficiency of 179.18.

Richardson, a finalist for the Outland Trophy, has helped the Baylor offense be the best in the nation. The senior is the leader of an offensive line that has blocked for a BU offense that ranks first in the country in yards per game (624.5) and points per contest (53.2).

Goodley is the Big 12's top receiver averaging 109.9 yards receiving per game along with 13 touchdown catches. The junior has had a FBS-leading eight games this season with over 100 yards receiving and has caught a touchdown in 10 of 12 contests.

Despite missing two games due to injury, Seastrunk became the first Baylor player to have two 1,000 yard rushing seasons as he has totaled 1,060 through 10 games in 2013. The junior also is second in the Big 12 with 11 rushing scores and his 106.0 rushing yards per game is tops in the conference.

Lackey is Baylor's top tackler with 8.1 stops per contest. He also has 13.0 tackles for loss on the season, including 4.5 sacks. The senior added two interceptions, one fumble recovery and one forced fumble to his stat line as the Baylor defense finished the regular season second in the league in total defense (344.0 ypg).

Roth, who punted just 45 times on the year, averaged a Big 12-leading 46.1 yards per punt including 14 kicks of 50+ yards. The punting average is also fifth-best in the country with 72-yard boot being Roth's longest of the year.

All 11 players helped Baylor win its first-ever Big 12 championship and earn a spot in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl. The Bears are ranked No. 6 in the AP Top 25 and the BCS Standings and No. 5 in the USA Today Coaches Poll.

The Associated Press All-Big 12 team is selected by a panel of 20 sports writers who regularly cover the league for newspapers throughout the league's five states.

Baylor (11-1, 8-1 Big 12) will now play in the 2014 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl vs. UCF (11-1, 8-0) Glendale, Ariz. on Jan. 1. The Bears will be appearing in a bowl game for a fourth straight season for the first time in program history. The contest is slated for an 7:30 p.m. CT kick from the University of Phoenix Stadium. For more information, visit

To stay current on all things Baylor Football, follow the team on Twitter: @BUFootball.

Antwan Goodley, WR, unanimous first team
Bryce Petty, QB, unanimous first team, Offensive Player of the Year
Cyril Richardson, OL, unanimous first team
Eddie Lackey, LB, first team
Spencer Roth, P, first team
Lache Seastrunk, RB, first team
Spencer Drango, OL, second team
Ahmad Dixon, S, second team
Bryce Hager, LB, second team
Chris McAllister, DL, second team
Tevin Reese, WR, second team



Online Store