Skip to main content Skip to footer
Football Announces 2009 Team Awards

Dec. 10, 2009

WACO, Texas - Baylor football announced the winners of its 2009 team awards during its annual year-end team banquet Wednesday night in the Simpson Center at the Highers Athletic Complex. In all, 13 Bears were honored with seniors Joe Pawelek and Jason Lamb each taking two awards.

A two-time Academic All-American and finalist for the Campbell Trophy, Pawelek earned the Defensive Academic Excellence Award as well as being named co-Defensive MVP along with Lamb. Pawelek finished his career with 422 tackles, 18th-most in NCAA history (since 2000), and nine interceptions. He tied the Baylor school record with 45 career starts.

Lamb, who led the team with three sacks and seven tackles-for-loss, was also selected as the winner of the inspirational Kyle Woods Award.

J.D Walton, the No. 1-rated NFL Draft prospect at the center position among seniors by ESPN's Mel Kiper and finalist for the Rimington Trophy, earned co-Offensive MVP honors along with David Gettis. Gettis caught six passes of 40 or more yards this season and his 13.0 average-per-reception led the team.

Special Team MVP honors went to freshman Terrance Williams and senior Andrew Judy. Williams ranks third in the Big 12 averaging 24.1 yards per return on kickoffs.

Senior Sam Sledge was named Off-Season MVP. Winners of the Bear Squad Awards for their performance on scout teams were Glasco Martin and Taylor Douthit on offense and Chris McAllister and Courtney Green on defense.

Freshman quarterback Nick Florence earned the Offensive Academic Excellence Award while freshman linebacker Logan Lanier received the Special Teams Academic Excellence Award.

2009 Baylor Football Team Awards
Co-Offensive Bear Squad Award - Glasco Martin and Taylor Douthit
Co-Defensive Bear Squad Award - Chris McAllister and Courtney Green
Off-Season MVP - Sam Sledge
Offensive Academic Excellence Award - Nick Florence
Defensive Academic Excellence Award - Joe Pawelek
Special Teams Academic Excellence Award - Logan Lanier
Kyle Woods Award - Jason Lamb
Co-Special Teams MVPs - Terrance Williams and Andrew Judy
Co-Defensive MVPs - Joe Pawelek and Jason Lamb
Co-Offensive MVPs - David Gettis and J.D. Walton



Online Store