Skip to main content Skip to footer
Briles Named AFCA Region 4 and AP Big 12 Coach of the Year

Dec. 10, 2013

WACO, Texas - Baylor football head coach Art Briles was named American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) 2013 Region 4 Coach of the Year and Associated Press (AP) Big 12 Coach of the Year, the organizations announced on Tuesday.

Briles garnered the AP accolade for the first time in Baylor history in a unanimous vote and has earned the AFCA honor twice now as he was also recognized in 2010. Briles joins Grant Teaff (1972, 1974, 1980) as the only two coaches in program history to earn the AFCA distinction.

The sixth-year BU coach has led the program to unprecedented success in 2013. The Bears won their first-ever Big 12 title - the program's first conference title since 1994 (Southwest Conference) and first outright title since 1980 (Southwest Conference) - and earned a trip to their first-ever BCS bowl game as they face UCF in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 1.

Under Briles in 2013, Baylor has compiled school records of 11 overall wins (11-1) and eight (8-1) wins in Big 12 play while scoring the most points (639) and touchdowns (85) in program history. The Bears set new program marks for weeks and consecutive weeks being ranked in the AP Top 25 (15) and AP Top 10 (8) en route to garnering their school-record fourth straight bowl game appearance.

Briles' Bears feature the nation's best offense, which averages 53.3 points per game and 624.5 yards per contest, and a stingy defense, which ranks in the top 20 nationally in both total defense (17th, 344.0 ypg) and scoring (19th, 21.2 ppg).

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association's five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions. The AFCA began recognizing district coaches of the year following the 1960 season.



The 2013 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2014 AFCA Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana. The dinner is scheduled for Tuesday, Jan. 14. All head coaches who were eligible for regional honors are eligible for national honors as well.

The AP Coach of the Year award is selected by a panel of 20 sports writers who regularly cover the league for newspapers throughout the league's five states. All 20 votes were for Briles.


Online Store