Skip to main content Skip to footer
Briles Named Bowden Coach of the Year Finalist

Art Briles

Dec. 10, 2013

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Baylor head football coach Art Briles was named one of five finalists for the Bobby Bowden National Collegiate Coach of the Year Award, the Over the Mountain Touchdown Club announced on Tuesday.

The Bobby Bowden National Collegiate Coach of the Year Award is given to those who have excelled in coaching football, while demonstrating perseverance, attitude, integrity, and determination.

This season, Briles led Baylor to its first-ever Big 12 championship and a school-record 11 wins. In his sixth-season on the job, Briles will take the Bears to their first BCS-bowl game next month.

Briles' offense leads the nation in scoring (53.3) and total offense (624.5). Meanwhile with Briles at the helm, Baylor has won 15 of its last 16 games and is 6-0 vs. AP Top 25 ranked teams at home in the last 2-plus seasons.

Briles has already been named a finalist for both the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award and the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year. He was honored as the AFCA Region 4 Coach of the Year and the Associated Press All-Big 12 Coach of the Year earlier Tuesday.

Baylor (11-1, 8-1 Big 12) will next play in the 2014 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl vs. UCF (11-1, 8-0) in Glendale, Ariz., on Jan. 1. The Bears will be appearing in a bowl game for a fourth straight season for the first time in program history. The contest is slated for a 7:30 p.m. CT kick from the University of Phoenix Stadium. For more information, visit

The other four FBS finalists for the Bowden Coach of the Year Award are: David Cutcliffe, Duke; Mark Dantonio, Michigan State; Jimbo Fisher, Florida State; and Guz Malzahn, Auburn.

Voting for the Bowden Award is done by the Club and the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association, and will conclude immediately after the BCS National Championship game.

Presentation of the award will take place in Birmingham, Ala., at the Cahaba Grand Conference Center, March 2, 2014. Bobby Bowden will present the award to this year's winner, along with honoring College Football Hall of Fame member Vince Dooley with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Previous winners of this award include Nick Saban from the University of Alabama (2009, 2011, and 2012) and Gene Chizik from Auburn University (2010).

To stay current on all things Baylor Football, follow the team on Twitter: @BUFootball.



Online Store