Skip to main content Skip to footer
Football Duo Tabbed Associated Press All-America

Cyril Richardson

Dec. 11, 2012

WACO, Texas - Baylor senior Terrance Williams and junior Cyril Richardson were named to the 2012 Associated Press All-America Football Teams on Tuesday. Williams was honored as a first-team wide receiver, while Richardson was a second-team guard, as selected by 16 AP poll voters.

This marks the second-straight year Baylor has had a pair of All-Americans, after Robert Griffin III and Kendall Wright were honored last season. It is the fourth time in program history that Baylor has had multiple AP All-America selections in the same season. Frank Ditta, Mike Singletary and Walter Abercrombie were all honored in 1980, and Santana Dotson and Robin Jones were chosen in 1991.

In his five years in Waco, Art Briles has produced five All-Americans, including Griffin III, Richardson, Williams, Wright and J.D. Walton in 2009. Baylor's only other AP All-American in the Big 12 era was punter Daniel Sepulveda, who was honored in 2005 and 2006.

Williams becomes the third BU receiver to take home the accolade following in the footsteps of Wright and Gerald McNeil (1983).

Williams was a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award, while leading the nation with 1,764 receiving yards, which is a school record. He has 95 receptions and 12 receiving touchdowns on the season, which are both second most in a single-season in program history. The Dallas, Texas, native, also owns Baylor's single-game records for receptions (17) and receiving yards (314).

Richardson is only the third Baylor guard to be an All-America, after Bill Glass received the honor in 1956 and Barton Koch was named to the team in 1930.

At his position, Richardson is a key cog in Baylor's offensive success, having started 25 consecutive games. With Richardson paving the way, BU leads the nation in total yards (578 ypg), while ranking third nationally in passing (353 ypg) and 19th in rushing (226 ypg).

Baylor (7-5, 4-5 Big 12) will now take on UCLA (9-4, 6-3 Pac-12) in the 2012 Bridgepoint Education Holiday Bowl in San Diego on Dec. 27. The Bears will be appearing in a bowl game for a third straight season for the first time in program history. The contest is slated for an 8:45 p.m. CT kick from Qualcomm Stadium. For more information, visit

1930 - Barton Kock, G (2nd)
1938 - Billy Patterson, CB (2nd)
1953 - James Ray Smith, OT (3rd)
1956 - Bill Glass, OG (1st)
1964 - Lawrence Elkins, E (1st)
1967 - Greg Pipes, DT (1st)
1972 - Roger Goree, DT (1st)
1976 - Gary Green, DB (1st)
1979 - Mike Singletary, LB (1st)
1980 - Frank Ditta, OG (1st)
1980 - Mike Singletary, LB (1st)
1980 - Walter Abercrombie, RB (3rd)
1983 - Gerald McNeil, WR (1st)
1985 - Thomas Everett, FS (1st)
1986 - Thomas Everett, FS (1st)
1989 - James Francis, LB (1st)
1991 - Santana Dotson, DT (1st)
1991 - Robin Jones, DL (3rd)
2005 - Daniel Sepulveda, P (2nd)
2006 - Daniel Sepulveda, P (1st)
2009 - J.D. Walton, C (1st)
2011 - Robert Griffin III, QB (1st)
2011 - Kendall Wright, WR (2nd)
2012 - Terrance Williams, WR (1st)
2012 - Cyril Richardson, OG (2nd)



Online Store