Skip to main content Skip to footer
Football Garners School-Record 10 All-Big 12 Selections

Dec. 11, 2013

IRVING, Texas - Baylor earned a school-record 10 All-Big 12 selections as chosen by the league's coaches, the conference announced on Wednesday.  Bears garner league's Coach, Offensive Player and Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Sixth-year BU head coach Art Briles was named Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year, marking the first time he's earned the honor from his Big 12 peers and gives him a third Coach of the Year award this season (AFCA Region 4, AP Big 12) - it's also the first time a Baylor coach has claimed the accolade. It's the fifth time Briles has garnered a Coach of the Year honor in his career as he was named 2006 Conference USA Coach of the Year and Sportexe Division I-A Coach of the Year while at Houston.

Briles has led the program to unprecedented success in 2013 as the Bears won their first-ever Big 12 title - the program's first conference title since 1994 (Southwest Conference) and first outright title since 1980 (Southwest Conference) - and earned a trip to their first-ever BCS bowl game as they face UCF in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 1.

Junior first-year starting quarterback Bryce Petty was named Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, giving BU its second-ever player to earn the award (Robert Griffin III in 2011). Also an All-Big 12 First Team choice, Petty has passed for 320.3 yards per game and 30 touchdowns, while completing 61.8 percent of his passes and only throwing two interceptions. He leads the nation with 17.47 yards per completion and is second with a passing efficiency of 179.18.

Senior offensive lineman Cyril Richardson was named Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year for the second straight season, marking the first time a Big 12 player has accomplished the feat - no player has ever earned the honor twice, let alone in back-to-back seasons. An All-Big 12 First Team selection for the second consecutive season, Richardson has led Baylor in knockdowns in 11 of 12 games for a team-high total of 83 knockdowns and has earned a team-high season coaches' grade of 89 percent as he led the team in coaches' grade in four of 12 games.

Leading the league with 10, Baylor's other offensive All-Big 12 First Team selections are: RB Lache Seastrunk, WR Antwan Goodley, WR Tevin Reese and OL Spencer Drango. Seastrunk became the first BU player to run for two 1,000-yard seasons as he led the league in rushing yards per game (106.0) and ranked second in rushing touchdowns (11). Goodley led the league in receiving yards per game (109.9) and receiving touchdowns (13). Reese, despite not playing since a wrist injury against Oklahoma on Nov. 7, ranked third in the league in receiving touchdowns (8) and fifth in receiving yards per game (91.6). Drango led the team in coaches' grade in four of nine games and tied for fourth on the team in knockdowns (43) despite missing the final three games due to injury.

The Bears' defensive All-Big 12 First Team selections are: DL Chris McAllister, LB Eddie Lackey, DB Ahmad Dixon and P Spencer Roth. McAllister ranked fourth in the league in sacks (6.5) and his 15 career sacks are tied for the all-time lead at Baylor. He also was seventh in the league in tackles for loss (12). Lackey, who was an Honorable Mention Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, ranked fifth in the league in tackles for loss (13), seventh in tackles per game (8.1) and 10th in sacks (4.5). Dixon ranked 24th in the league in tackles per game (5.8). Roth led the league with an average of 46.1 yards per punt.

Among the All-Big 12 Honorable Mention choices were: DB Demetri Goodson, LB Bryce Hager, OL Stefan Huber, PK Aaron Jones, RB Shock Linwood (Honorable Mention Big 12 Offensive Freshman of the Year), DB K.J. Morton, TE Jordan Najvar, KR/PR/WR Levi Norwood, DL Shawn Oakman (Honorable Mention Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year) and OL Kelvin Palmer.

Baylor's All-Big 12 First Team Selections
QB Bryce Petty
RB Lache Seastrunk
WR Antwan Goodley
WR Tevin Reese
OL Spencer Drango
OL Cyril Richardson

DL Chris McAllister
LB Eddie Lackey
DB Ahmad Dixon
P Spencer Roth

DB Demetri Goodson
LB Bryce Hager
OL Stefan Huber
PK Aaron Jones
LB Eddie Lackey (Def. PoY)
RB Shock Linwood (Off. FoY)
DB KJ Morton
TE Jordan Najvar
WR/KR/PR Levi Norwood
DL Shawn Oakman (Def. NoY)
OL Kelvin Palmer



Online Store