Skip to main content Skip to footer
Richardson Earns Spot on Walter Camp All-America Team

Dec. 12, 2013

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Baylor senior offensive lineman Cyril Richardson has been named first-team All-America by the Walter Camp Football Foundation, the organization announced Thursday during The Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards Show.

Richardson's selection marks the fourth time in the Big 12 era that the Bears have had a player named to the nation's oldest college football All-America squad. Terrance Williams was a first-team selection last season and Robert Griffin III was a second-team honoree in 2011, and when Daniel Sepulveda was named to the first team in 2006, he became the first Bear honored since Santana Dotson in 1991.

A Fort Worth, Texas, native, Richardson is the second offensive lineman in program history named a Walter Camp All-American. Guard Bill Glass was selected to the first team in 1956. With his The Associated Press second-team All-America selection in 2012, Richardson is the fifth in program history to twice be named an All-American (Lawrence Elkins, Mike Singletary, Thomas Everett and Daniel Sepulveda).

One of three Outland Trophy finalists, Richardson helped Baylor to its first-ever Big 12 championship and a school record 11 wins. He is the leader for an offensive line that blocks for America's top offense. The Bears lead the nation in scoring (53.3) and total offense (624.5). Richardson has also registered a team-leading 83 knockdowns on the year.

With his help the Baylor rushing attack leads the Big 12 with 265.2 yards per game. Richardson has also aided in keeping quarterback Bryce Petty protected in 2013. The Bears have surrendered only 20 sacks on the year.



Richardson was recognized as an All-Big 12 first-team player by the Associated Press and the league's coaches. The Big 12 Conference coaches also honored him as the Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year for a second straight season and he won the Jim Parker Award from the Touchdown Club of Columbus as the nation's top offensive lineman.

Baylor (11-1, 8-1 Big 12) will next play in the 2014 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl vs. UCF (11-1, 8-0) in Glendale, Ariz., on Jan. 1. The Bears will be appearing in a bowl game for a fourth straight season for the first time in program history. The contest is slated for a 7:30 p.m. CT kick from the University of Phoenix Stadium. For more information, visit

To stay current on all things Baylor Football, follow the team on Twitter: @BUFootball.

Baylor's Walter Camp Football Foundation All-Americans
Bill Glass, OG, 1956 (1st)
Lawrence Elkins, E, 1963 (1st)
Lawrence Elkins, E, 1964 (1st)
Mike Singletary, LB, 1979 (1st)
Mike Singletary, LB, 1980 (1st)
Van McElroy, FS, 1981 (1st)
Thomas Everett, FS, 1986 (1st)
Santana Dotson, DT, 1991 (1st)
Daniel Sepulveda, P, 2006 (1st)
Robert Griffin III, QB, 2011 (2nd)
Terrance Williams, WR, 2012 (1st)
Cyril Richardson, OL, 2013 (1st)


Online Store