Skip to main content Skip to footer
RG3 Named Sporting News Player of the Year

RG3 is Baylor's first Heisman Trophy winner and its 10th player to earn consensus All-America honors.

Dec. 15, 2011

WACO, Texas – Baylor Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Robert Griffin III was honored as the Sporting News’ 2011 College Football Player of the Year and earned his eighth first-team All-America honor of the season, the publication announced Thursday.

Griffin III is Baylor’s 10th different player to earn consensus All-America honors and the first since Daniel Sepulveda in 2006. He is the first Baylor offensive player to be named a consensus All-American since Lawrence Elkins in 1964. Elkins and Mike Singletary both earned consensus honors in two seasons, bringing Baylor’s total number of honors to 12.

RG3 has been named first-team All-America The Associated Press, Sporting News,,, Yahoo!/, Phil Steele, and Football Writers Association of America. He has been named National Player of the Year by Sporting News and Yahoo!/ and National Offensive Player of the Year by

Griffin III, the winner of Baylor’s first Heisman Trophy and Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, leads the nation with a 192.31 passing efficiency and 22.67 points responsibility per game. A junior from Copperas Cove, Texas, RG3 ranks second nationally with 386.83 yards of total offense per game and fourth with 36 passing touchdowns. In addition to a school-record 3,998 passing yards, RG3 has rushed for 644 yards and nine touchdowns.

No. 12 Baylor (9-3, 6-3) closes out the 2011 season by taking on Washington (7-5, 5-4) in the Valero Alamo Bowl at 8 p.m. CST on Dec. 29 at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. Baylor has sold out its allotment of tickets for the game, but tickets can still be purchased through For more information on Baylor and the Valero Alamo Bowl, visit

1930 – Barton Koch, G
1956 – Bill Glass, G
1963 – Lawrence Elkins, E
1964 – Lawrence Elkins, B
1972 – Roger Goree, DE
1976 – Gary Green, DB
1979 – Mike Singletary, LB
1980 – Mike Singletary, LB
1986 – Thomas Everett, DB
1991 – Santana Dotson, DL
2006 – Daniel Sepulveda, P
2011 – Robert Griffin III, QB



Online Store