Skip to main content Skip to footer
Five Players Earn All-America Honors

Spencer Roth

Dec. 17, 2013

WACO, Texas - Baylor senior offensive lineman Cyril Richardson picked up three more All-America honors with the unveiling of the Associated Press, and All-America teams on Tuesday.

Four other Baylor players, Ahmad Dixon (AP, 2nd;, honorable mention;, 2nd), Antwan Goodley (, 2nd team;, honorable mention), Bryce Petty (, honorable mention) and Spencer Roth (, honorable mention) were recognized on at least one of those All-America teams.

Five All-Americans are the most for Baylor in any single season, surpassing the four honored in 1951.

Richardson is well on his way to earning unanimous All-America status, after having been on eight All-America teams. The Fort Worth, Texas, native was a second-team AP All-American last season, making him the fifth two-time All-American in program history. The Outland Trophy finalist is the leader for an offensive line that blocks for America's top offense. The Bears lead the nation in scoring (53.3) and total offense (624.5). Richardson has also registered a team-leading 83 knockdowns on the year. The Big 12 Conference coaches also honored Richardson as the Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year for a second straight season.

Dixon, a Waco product, is the vocal leader for a Baylor defense that was vastly improved in 2013. Dixon ranks 24th in the league in tackles per game (5.8), while intercepting one pass and forcing one fumble. With Dixon at safety, BU ranks 17th in total defense (344.0) and 19th in the country in scoring defense (21.2). He has now landed on four different All-America teams, including a first-team selection by the Sporting News.

With Richardson's and Dixon's selections, Baylor has now had at least two All-Americans on the AP team for three straight seasons and a total of seven in six years under Art Briles.

Goodley, a junior wide receiver, earned second-team All-America status from and honorable mention recognition from as he leads the Big 12 in receiving yards per game (109.9) and receiving touchdowns (13). Those marks are ninth and seventh in the nation, respectively. The junior from Midland, Texas, leads the nation with eight games of 100 or more receiving yards in 2013. He has already been recognized this year as a third-team All-American by Athlon Sports.

Quarterback Bryce Petty added to his postseason honor haul with a place on the All-America honorable mention team. Petty was named Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year last week, after passing for 320.3 yards per game and 30 touchdowns, while completing 61.8 percent of his passes and only throwing two interceptions. He leads the nation with 17.47 yards per completion and is second with a passing efficiency of 179.18. Petty was also a second-team All-America selection by Athlon Sports.

As BU's punter, Roth, leads the Big 12 with an average of 46.1 yards per punt. He picked up his first All-American honor with a spot on the All-American honorable mention team. Roth punted 45 times for the Bears, placing 14 of those kicks inside the 20-yard line with a long punt of 72 yards.

Baylor (11-1, 8-1 Big 12) will next play in the 2014 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl vs. UCF (11-1, 8-0) in Glendale, Ariz., on Jan. 1. The Bears will be appearing in a bowl game for a fourth straight season for the first time in program history. The contest is slated for a 7:30 p.m. CT kick from the University of Phoenix Stadium. For more information, visit

To stay current on all things Baylor Football, follow the team on Twitter: @BUFootball.

Baylor's AP All-Americans
1930 - Barton Kock, G (2nd)
1938 - Billy Patterson, CB (2nd)
1953 - James Ray Smith, OT (3rd)
1956 - Bill Glass, OG (1st)
1964 - Lawrence Elkins, E (1st)
1967 - Greg Pipes, DT (1st)
1972 - Roger Goree, DT (1st)
1976 - Gary Green, DB (1st)
1979 - Mike Singletary, LB (1st)
1980 - Frank Ditta, OG (1st)
1980 - Mike Singletary, LB (1st)
1980 - Walter Abercrombie, RB (3rd)
1983 - Gerald McNeil, WR (1st)
1985 - Thomas Everett, FS (1st)
1986 - Thomas Everett, FS (1st)
1989 - James Francis, LB (1st)
1991 - Santana Dotson, DT (1st)
1991 - Robin Jones, DL (3rd)
2005 - Daniel Sepulveda, P (2nd)
2006 - Daniel Sepulveda, P (1st)
2009 - J.D. Walton, C (1st)
2011 - Robert Griffin III, QB (1st)
2011 - Kendall Wright, WR (2nd)
2012 - Terrance Williams, WR (1st)
2012 - Cyril Richardson, OG (2nd)
2013 - Cyril Richardson, OG (1st)
2013 - Ahmad Dixon, S (2nd)



Online Store