Skip to main content Skip to footer
Teaff Named FBA Champions Award Recipient

Grant Teaff

Dec. 20, 2012

FBA Release

ORLANDO, Fla. - Steve Hogan, Chair of the Football Bowl Association and CEO of Florida Citrus Sports, announced today that the American Football Coaches Association executive director Grant Teaff has been recognized as the recipient of the FBA's 2013 Champions Award.

Presentation of the award will take place during an on-field ceremony at this year's BCS National Championship Game in Miami on January 7, 2013.

"I am an advocate of the bowl system for college football, and have been since the beginning of my coaching career," said Teaff. "The bowl system has a value it brings to the student-athlete experience, and it benefits the coaches, universities and supporters of numerous college campuses around the country each year."

Teaff is in his 20th year as the executive director of the American Football Coaches Association. Prior to his administrative position, he maintained a coaching career that spanned 33 years and included 170 victories.

Teaff led the Baylor Bears for 21 seasons and compiled 128 wins, eventually leaving his post in 1992 as the winningest and longest-tenured coach in school history, marks that still stand. He led the Bears to two Southwest Conference championships, including a perfect 8-0 mark in conference play in 1980. He also coached at Angelo State and McMurry University.

"Grant Teaff has been an asset to every level of football for more than fifty years.," Hogan said. "We want to recognize him for his unconditional service and dedication to college football, student-athletes, coaches and the over 100-year tradition of contesting bowl games."

Teaff was elected into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2001 for his coaching endeavors. As the executive director of the AFCA, Teaff oversees a growing membership of more than 11,000 coaches and stakeholders.



Online Store