Skip to main content Skip to footer
Braden Bailey Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List
Feb. 14, 2018

FORT WORTH, Texas - Baylor men's golf junior Braden Bailey is one of 27 players on the 2018 Ben Hogan Award watch list, as announced Wednesday by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, the Friends of Golf and the Golf Coaches Association of America.

The Ben Hogan Award, presented by Konica Minolta, is given annually to the top men's collegiate golfer across NCAA Division I, II or II, NAIA or NJCAA. All collegiate and amateur competitions between June 2017 and May 2018 are taken into account by the Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee, which votes during each stage of the process.

The watch list will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists, which could include golfers not on the watch list, on April 11, and three finalists will be named on May 2. Finalists will attend a black-tie dinner at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, on May 21, prior to the start of the annual PGA TOUR stop at Colonial, where the winner will be crowned.

Bailey is one of five Big 12 golfers on the watch list, joining Oklahoma State's Zach Bauchou, Oklahoma's Brad Dalke, Texas' Doug Ghim and Texas Tech's Fredrik Nilehn. A Groves, Texas native, Bailey is one of two players from Texas on the watch list along with Texas A&M's Chandler Phillips (Huntsville, Texas).

Twenty-three of the 27 candidates are ranked among the nation's top 40 individuals in the GolfStat NCAA Division I player rankings last updated on Nov. 28. There are nine seniors, 14 juniors and four sophomores among the 27 watch list members.

Bailey is No. 9 in the GolfStat NCAA Division I player rankings, which haven't yet accounted for his first-place finish at the 92-player Arizona Intercollegiate on Jan. 30. Bailey is ranked No. 5 in the Golfweek men's collegiate individual rankings, which were updated Monday, and teammates Garrett May (No. 12), Cooper Dossey (No. 50) and Matthew Perrine (No. 64) are also in the top 100 of the Golfweek rankings.

Bailey is enjoying of the best seasons in Baylor golf history. He's recorded top-10 finishes in all five tournaments, including winning medalist honors at the Arizona Intercollegiate and tying for third place at the Royal Oaks Intercollegiate. He is riding a streak of 14 consecutive rounds of 72 or better, including 12 rounds at or below par. With top-10 finishes in every event this season, his 2017-18 comparative record sits at 360-22-3.

Bailey's current 69.60 stroke average is on pace to shatter the single-season school record of 70.47 set by Kyle Jones in 2014-15, and his 71.73 career stroke average ranks second all-time behind Jimmy Walker's 71.55. He ranks seventh in program history in both career top-5 finishes (8) and career top-10 finishes (15).

Baylor head coach Mike McGraw coached three previous Ben Hogan Award winners while at Oklahoma State. He was OSU's assistant coach when Hunter Mahan was honored in 2003, and head coach for both Rickie Fowler in 2008 and Peter Uihlein in 2011.

The Ben Hogan Trophy was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards. In 2002, the Ben Hogan Award moved to Fort Worth, Texas, and revised its criteria to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Winners of the Ben Hogan Award include seven golfers currently ranked in the top 100 in the Official World Gold Rankings - Jon Rahm, Fowler, Patrick Cantlay, Kyle Stanley, Uihlein, Bill Haas and Ryan Moore. Other recipients include Ricky Barnes, Matt Every, Chris Kirk, Mahan, Maverick McNealy, Patrick Rodgers, Nick Taylor, D.J. Trahan and Chris Williams.

To find the latest information on The Ben Hogan Award, its candidates and its previous winners, visit and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter. Follow @BaylorMGolf on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook for updates throughout the season.

2018 Ben Hogan Award Watch List (GolfStat NCAA Player Ranking as of Nov. 28, 2017)
Dawson Armstrong, Lipscomb, Sr., Brentwood, Tenn. (No. 18)
Braden Bailey, Baylor, Jr., Groves, Texas (No. 9)
Shintaro Ban, UNLV, Sr., San Jose, Calif. (No. 14)
Zach Bauchou, Oklahoma State, Jr., Forest, Va. (No. 5)
Chandler Blanchet, West Florida, Sr., Gainesville, Fla. (No. 5 in Division II)
Brad Dalke, Oklahoma, Jr., Norman, Okla. (No. 12)
Harry Ellis, Florida State, Sr., Southampton, England (No. 22)
Patrick Fishburn, BYU, Sr., Ogden, Utah (No. 16)
Steven Fisk, Georgia Southern, Jr., Stockbridge, Ga. (No. 3)
Doug Ghim, Texas, Sr., Arlington Heights, Ill. (No. 6)
Will Gordon, Vanderbilt, Jr., Davidson, N.C. (No. 20)
Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt, Sr., Greenwich, Conn. (No. 27)
S.M. Lee, Dalton State, So., Buford, Ga. (NAIA)
Patrick Martin, Vanderbilt, Jr., Birmingham, Ala. (No. 34)
Dylan Meyer, Illinois, Sr., Evansville, Ind. (No. 55)
Collin Morikawa, California, Jr., La Canada Flintridge, Calif. (No. 8)
Fredrik Nilehn, Texas Tech, Sr., Goteborg, Sweden (No. 21)
Bryson Nimmer, Clemson, Jr., Bluffton, S.C. (No. 19)
Mason Overstreet, Arkansas, So., Kingfisher, Okla. (No. 23)
Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M, Jr., Huntsville, Texas (No. 10)
Doc Redman, Clemson, So., Raleigh, N.C. (No. 149)
Davis Riley, Alabama, Jr., Hattiesburg, Miss. (No. 2)
Justin Suh, Southern California, Jr., San Jose, Calif. (No. 1)
Sahith Theegala, Pepperdine, Jr., Chino Hills, Calif. (No. 37)
Braden Thornberry, Ole Miss, Jr., Olive Branch, Miss. (No. 39)
Brandon Wu, Stanford, Jr., Danville, Calif. (No. 4)
Norman Xiong, Oregon, So., Canyon Lake, Calif. (No. 25)



Online Store