Skip to main content Skip to footer
Men's Golf Travels to Bayou City Championship

Jerry Ruiz ranks second on the team with a 71.78 stroke average in 2013-14.

Feb. 20, 2014

WACO, Texas - The Baylor men's golf team is headed to Humble, Texas, for the Bayou City Collegiate Championship, hosted by Rice and Houston. The three-day, 54-hole event begins Friday at the Golf Club of Houston.

The tournament will be played on the par-72, 6,982-yard Tournament Course. The 30th-ranked Bears will be competing in a 15-team field featuring six other Lone Star State schools, including the No. 13 Houston, Rice, Houston Baptist, Lamar, No. 19 Texas and UTSA. The field also includes, No. 21 Arkansas, Charlotte, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana Tech, Mississippi State, New Mexico State, No. 29 South Carolina and No. 14 South Florida.

"Last year we played well at this tournament for 36 holes, and we just couldn't finish the tournament," head coach Greg Priest said. "This year we are trying to go out and put 54 holes together. I think we'll have some pretty good weather. It's going to be a challenging golf course, because it's where the Shell Houston Open is played, and we are only about a month out from that tournament. It will be in really good shape, and it will be a good test of golf."

The Bears' lineup is led by junior Kyle Jones, who won the individual title in last week's UTSA Oak Hills Invitational. Jones is followed by senior Jerry Ruiz, along with juniors Mikkel Bjerch-Andresen and Niclas Mansson and sophomore Andreas Gjesteby. Sophomore Charles Neel White will compete as an individual.

"We just want to keep improving at each and every tournament," Priest said. "That way when we get to the Big 12 Championship and postseason, we will be hitting on all cylinders. We have got a couple of guys that we are going to give the chance to play this week and it will be good to see what they can do."

Baylor's tee times for Friday's first round begin at 9 a.m. CT on hole No. 10. The Bears are paired with Arkansas and South Carolina and start times will be in nine-minute intervals starting with Mansson, followed by Gjesteby, Bjerch-Andresen, Ruiz and Jones, respectively. White tees off on the 10th hole at 10:48 a.m.

For live scoring information throughout the tournament visit Follow @BaylorMGolf on twitter for updates throughout the season.



Online Store