Skip to main content Skip to footer
Jones Named Big 12 Men's Golfer of the Month

Kyle Jones is the fourth Baylor golfer to earn the Big 12's monthly award.

April 2, 2014

IRVING, Texas - Baylor junior Kyle Jones has been named March's Big 12 Men's Golfer of the Month, becoming the fourth Baylor player honored since the award was established in 2002.

Jones joins Jeremy Alcorn (October 2004 and March 2005), Ryan Baca (December 2005 and February 2006) and Joakim Mikkelsen (February 2012 and April 2012) as the only players in program history to win the Big 12's monthly award.

"We're really happy for Kyle, because he's very deserving," head coach Greg Priest said. "He's had a great year up to this point, and this is a testament to all of his hard work."

Jones finished in the top 15 individually in all three March tournaments. He recorded a 71.22 stroke average over nine rounds played, helping Baylor to top-three finishes in all three events.

A Snowflake, Ariz., native, Jones tied for second at the Querencia Cabo Collegiate after shooting 74-65-71. His second-round 65 in Los Cabos was a career best and was three strokes better than any other score during the 234 rounds played at the tournament.

Jones finished tied for sixth at the Lone Star Invitational after shooting 72-70-70. He was one of only four players out of 84 in the field to play all three rounds at par or better. His 212 helped Baylor finish in second place at the tournament. Jones also tied for 15th place in a 97-player field at the Border Olympics after shooting 74-74-71.

Baylor has finished in the top five in all five spring tournaments, including a first-place finish at the UTSA Oak Hills Invitational in February. The Bears next head to Augusta, Ga., to play in the Augusta State Invitational, which runs April 5-6. That tournament will be Baylor's last before heading to the Big 12 Championship in Trinity, Texas, which will be played April 25-27.

Jeremy Alcorn, October 2004
Jeremy Alcorn, March 2005
Ryan Baca, December 2005
Ryan Baca, February 2006
Joakim Mikkelsen, February 2012
Joakim Mikkelsen, April 2012
Kyle Jones, March 2014



Online Store