Men's Golf Eyes Second Big 12 Title

April 23, 2011

Big 12 Men's Golf Championship Notebook in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

No. 43 Baylor at 2011 Big 12 Men's Golf Championship
Monday, April 25-Wednesday, April 27
 Location Hutchinson, Kan. (Prairie Dunes CC)
 Host Nebraska
70 | 6,593
 Format 36-18-18
Joakim Mikkelsen, Ryan O'Rear, Jerry Ruiz,
Cody Paladino, Payne Gniewek

 Internet Live results available at

HUTCHINSON, Kan. – After a solid finish to the spring that included three top-five finishes, Baylor will vie for its first conference title in 10 years at the 2011 Big 12 Men’s Golf Championship. Hosted by the University of Nebraska, the Big 12 Championship will be held April 25-27 at the 6,593-yard, par-70 Prairie Dunes Country Club.

Baylor won the 2001 Big 12 Championship at Prairie Dunes, which is hosting the conference championship for the ninth time. The Big 12 Men’s Golf Championship will feature 36 holes Monday, followed by 18 holes each on Tuesday and Wednesday. Live scoring will be available at

Pairings for the first round will be No. 10 Nebraska, No. 11 Kansas and No. 12 Kansas State starting on the first tee at 8 a.m. CDT., followed by No. 7 Missouri, No. 8 Iowa State and No. 9 Colorado at 8:50 a.m. CDT. No. 4 Texas Tech, No. 5 Oklahoma and No. 6 Baylor will begin play on the 10th hole starting at 8 a.m. Top-seeded Oklahoma State, No. 2 Texas A&M and No. 3 Texas will follow beginning at 8:50 a.m.

Second-round pairings will remain the same, but will switch starting tees. The second round is scheduled to begin approximately five and one-half hours after the Monday’s first-round tee times. Second-day pairings will be based on first-day results and placed in a horseshoe arrangement.

At the 2009 Big 12 Championship held at Prairie Dunes, then-senior Bill Allcorn was named to the Big 12 All-Tournament Team, finishing second overall with a 1-under-par 279. Baylor finished fifth overall that year; last season at Whispering Pines in Trinity, Texas, the Bears finished sixth overall.

Baylor has five top-five finishes in six stroke-play events this spring, including tournament victories at the Charleston (S.C.) Shootout and the Wyoming Cowboy Classic in Scottsdale, Ariz. Much of Baylor’s spring success can be attributed to junior Joakim Mikkelsen and sophomore Ryan O’Rear. Mikkelsen has four top-15 finishes in his last five spring events and leads the Bears in rounds counted (96.3 percent), scoring average (72.11), score vs. par (0.67) and rounds of par or better (13). The duo has combined for four of Baylor’s five top-five and eight of Baylor’s 15 top-25 finishes in the spring.

Rounding out Baylor’s lineup with Mikkelsen and O’Rear will be sophomore Jerry Ruiz and seniors Cody Paladino and Payne Gniewek. Both Mikkelsen and Paladino are making their third career Big 12 Championship appearance, while Ruiz, Gniewek and O’Rear will make their second trips.



Online Store