Skip to main content Skip to footer
Jones Named to All-Big 12 Men's Golf Team

Kyle Jones is the ninth player in program history to be named All-Big 12.

May 2, 2014

IRVING, Texas - Baylor's Kyle Jones was one of 10 golfers named to the 2014 All-Big 12 Men's Golf Team, as announced by the conference office. Jones is a first-time honoree and the ninth Baylor golfer to be selected to the All-Big 12 team in the league's 18-year history.

Jones joins Joakim Mikkelsen as the only Baylor golfers to earn All-Big 12 recognition in the last six seasons. The junior from Snowflake, Ariz., has four top-three finishes this season, including the individual tournament championship at the 2014 UTSA Oak Hills Invitational.

The 2014 All-Big 12 Team was identified using the top-10 highest-ranked student-athletes according to the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Big 12 Championship. Jones currently ranks 31st nationally and has a scoring average of 70.18. The only Big 12 players ahead of Jones in the rankings are No. 9 Wyndham Clark of Oklahoma State and No. 15 Julien Brun of TCU.

"Kyle has had a great year, and it's exciting to see his success being acknowledged," head coach Greg Priest said.

Jones, who was named the Big 12 Men's Golfer of the Month in March, leads the Bears with seven top-10 finishes in 12 tournaments this season. With one year of eligibility remaining following the 2013-14 season, Jones will have a chance to join Jimmy Walker and Ryan Baca as the only players in program history to earn multiple All-Big 12 honors.

Baylor, which is ranked 27th nationally in the latest GolfStat rankings, is looking to make its 17th consecutive NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship appearance. The tournament's selection show will be aired at 9 a.m. CT Monday on Golf Channel.

2014 All-Big 12 Men's Golf Team (Golfweek/Sagarin rankings)
Wyndham Clark, Oklahoma State (No. 9)
Julien Brun, TCU (No. 15)
Kyle Jones, Baylor (No. 31)
Talor Gooch, Oklahoma State (No. 34)
Toni Hakula, Texas (No. 43)
Ian Davis, Oklahoma State (No. 51)
Beau Hossler, Texas (No. 55)
Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State (No. 62)
Michael Gellerman, Oklahoma (No. 77)
Kramer Hickok, Texas (No. 78)

Baylor Men's Golf All-Big 12 Honorees
Jimmy Walker - 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001
Aaron Pellegrom - 2000
Worth Williams - 2001
Adam Meyer - 2002
Ryan Baca - 2003, 2004, 2006
Jeremy Alcorn - 2005
Colton Williams - 2008
Joakim Mikkelsen - 2012
Kyle Jones - 2014



Online Store