Skip to main content Skip to footer
Mikkelsen Earns All-American Honorable Mention

Joakim Mikkelsen

June 14, 2012

2012 Golfweek All-American Teams

WACO, Texas –2012 Big 12 Conference champion Joakim Mikkelsen earned honorable mention All-American honors from Golfweek, becoming the first Baylor All-American men’s golfer since 2006.

Mikkelsen is the 12th All-American in program history and the first in six years when Ryan Baca picked up first-team honors from PING. The Drammen, Norway, native was one of 50 golfers named to pick up Golfweek All-American honors. The first, second and third teams as well as honorable mention were determined by the players’ order in the final Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings.

At the end of May, Mikkelsen was named to the 2012 PING All-Central Region Team, earning all-region honors for the third consecutive season.

As a senior, Mikkelsen became Baylor’s first All-Big 12 golfer since 2008 and was one of five finalists for the 2012 Byron Nelson Award. He concluded the 2011-12 season with a 71.38 stroke average, the second-lowest single-season average in program history. He won the 2012 Big 12 Championship individual title, shooting 3-under and erasing a seven-stroke deficit in the final round. He leaves Baylor with 12 career top-five and 19 career top-10 finishes, ranking third in program history in both categories.

A seven-time Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll member, he was a three-time Academic All-Big 12 first-team selection and a two-time Big 12 Golfer of the Month (February 2012, April 2012). Mikkelsen and the Bears advanced to the 2012 NCAA Ann Arbor Regional, marking Baylor’s 15th consecutive NCAA postseason appearance and 20th overall.

He graduated in May from Baylor with a degree in speech communication.

Follow the official Twitter account for Baylor Men’s Golf, @BaylorMGolf, or “Like” Baylor Men’s Golf on Facebook.

 Teams determined by players’ order in Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings

Justin Thomas, Fr., Alabama Julian Suri, Jr., Duke
Jordan Spieth, Fr., Texas* Anders Albertson, Fr., Georgia Tech
Dylan Frittelli, Sr., Texas Ethan Tracy, Sr., Arkansase
Patrick Rodgers, Fr., Stanford* Talor Gooch, So., Oklahoma State
Chris Williams, Jr., Washington Michael Kim, Fr., California
Eugene Wong, Sr., Oregon Joakim Mikkelsen, Sr., Baylor
Blayne Barber, Jr., Auburn Brandon Hagy, So., California
Julien Brun, Fr., TCU* Zachary Blair, Jr., BYU
T.J. Vogel, Jr., Florida Sang Yi, Sr., LSU
Daniel Miernicki, Sr., Oregon Jeffrey Kang, So., USC
Kevin Aylwin, Sr., North Florida
Patrick Cantlay, So., UCLA Nate McCoy, Sr., Iowa State
Stephan Jaeger, Sr., Chattanooga Dominic Bozzelli, Jr., Auburn
Cory Whitsett, So., Alabama Josh Anderson, Sr., Pepperdine
Luke Guthrie, Sr., Illinois Cameron Peck, Jr., Texas A&M
Pedro Figueiredo, Jr., UCLA Max Scodro, Sr., Notre Dame
Ben Kohles, Sr., Virginia Sebastian Cappelen, So., Arkansas
Julio Vegas, Jr., Texas Hunter Hamrick, Sr., Alabama
Bobby Wyatt, So., Alabama Corey Conners, So., Kent State
Andrew Yun, Jr., Stanford Ricardo Gouveia, So., UCF
Brooks Koepka, Sr., Florida State
J.J. Spaun, Sr., San Diego State
Steve Lim, Sr., USC
Thomas Pieters, So., Illinois
James White, Sr., Georgia Tech
Sean Dale, Jr., North Florida
Cheng-Tsung Pan, Fr., Washington*
Max Homa, Jr., California
Robert Karlsson, Sr., Liberty
Peter Williamson, Sr., Dartmouth
Corbin Mills, Jr., Clemson

* all-freshman team



Online Store