Skip to main content Skip to footer
Mikkelsen Named Third-Team PING All-American

Joakim Mikkelsen is a third-team PING All-American.

June 20, 2012

2012 Division I PING All-America Teams

NORMAN, Okla. – Baylor’s Joakim Mikkelsen is one of 10 golfers named to the 2012 Division I PING All-America third team, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced Wednesday.

The Drammen, Norway, native is one of seven Big 12 golfers named to the PING All-America teams, joining first-teamers Dylan Frittelli and Jordan Spieth of Texas; third-teamer Julio Vegas of Texas; and honorable mention selections Will Kropp of Oklahoma, Nate McCoy of Iowa State and Cameron Peck of Texas A&M.

Mikkelsen, a Golfweek All-America honorable mention, is the 13th All-American in program history and the first PING All-American in six years when Ryan Baca picked up first-team honors. In May, Mikkelsen was named to the 2012 PING All-Central Region Team, earning all-region honors for the third consecutive season.

As a senior, Mikkelsen became Baylor’s first All-Big 12 golfer since 2008 and was one of five finalists for the 2012 Byron Nelson Award. He concluded the 2011-12 season with a 71.38 stroke average, the second-lowest single-season average in program history. He won the 2012 Big 12 Championship individual title, shooting 3-under and erasing a seven-stroke deficit in the final round. He leaves Baylor with 12 career top-five and 19 career top-10 finishes, ranking third in program history in both categories.

A seven-time Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll member, he was a three-time Academic All-Big 12 first-team selection and a two-time Big 12 Golfer of the Month (February 2012, April 2012). Mikkelsen and the Bears advanced to the 2012 NCAA Ann Arbor Regional, marking Baylor’s 15th consecutive NCAA postseason appearance and 20th overall.

He graduated in May from Baylor with a degree in speech communication.

Follow the official Twitter account for Baylor Men’s Golf, @BaylorMGolf, or “Like” Baylor Men’s Golf on Facebook.

Blayne Barber, Auburn Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech
Julien Brun, TCU Josh Anderson, Pepperdine
Dylan Frittelli, Texas Anton Arboleda, UCLA
Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga Kevin Aylwin, North Florida
Daniel Miernicki, Oregon Dominic Bozzelli, Auburn
Thomas Pieters, Illinois Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas
Patrick Rodgers, Stanford John Catlin, New Mexico
Jordan Spieth, Texas Albin Choi, N.C. State
Justin Thomas, Alabama Eric Chun, Northwestern
Chris Williams, Washington Corey Conners, Kent State
Eugene Wong, Oregon Sean Dale, North Florida
Greg Eason, UCF
Patrick Cantlay, UCLA Sang Yi, LSU
Pedro Figueiredo, UCLA Derek Ernst, UNLV
Luke Guthrie, Illinois Ricardo Gouveia, UCF
Brooks Koepka, Florida State Vaita Guillaume, Campbell
Ben Kohles, Virginia Brandon Hagy, California
Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington Jeffrey Kang, USC
J.J. Spaun, San Diego State Michael Kim, California
T.J. Vogel, Florida Will Kropp, Oklahoma
Cory Whitsett, Alabama Steve Lim, USC
Andrew Yun, Stanford Tyler McCumber, Florida
THIRD TEAM Nate McCoy, Iowa State
Zac Blair, BYU Corbin Mills, Clemson
Alex Ching, San Diego Keith Mitchell, Georgia
Max Homa, California Cameron Peck, Texas A&M
Robert Karlsson, Liberty Kevin Penner, UNLV
Joakim Mikkelsen, Baylor Matt Schovee, SMU
Julian Suri, Duke Max Scodro, Notre Dame
Julio Vegas, Texas Ethan Tracy, Arkansas
James White, Georgia Tech Joseph Winslow, Iowa
Peter Williamson, Dartmouth
Bobby Wyatt, Alabama



Online Store