Skip to main content Skip to footer
Men's Golf Duo Named All-America Scholars

Joakim Mikkelsen finished the 2011-12 season with a 71.38 stroke average, the second-lowest in program history.

July 25, 2012

2012 Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholar Teams

NORMAN, Okla. - Baylor men's golfers Joakim Mikkelsen and Lorenzo Scotto were named Division I Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars, as announced by the GCAA on Wednesday.

Both Mikkelsen and Scotto were repeat winners after earning the honor following the 2011 season. They join Worth Williams, Chase Thomas and Bill Alcorn to give the Bears five two-time All-America Scholars in program history. Nine Baylor golfers have combined to earn 14 all-time honors.

To be eligible for All-America Scholar status an individual must be a junior or senior academically, compete in at least three full years at the collegiate level, participate in 70-percent of his team's competitive rounds or compete in the NCAA Championships, have a stroke-average under 76.0 in Division I, and maintain a minimum cumula¬tive grade-point average of at least 3.2. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

Mikkelsen, a third-team PING All-American and 2012 Byron Nelson Award finalist, became Baylor's first All-Big 12 selection since 2008 when he was selected in 2012. A Drammen, Norway, native, Mikkelsen concluded his senior season with a 71.38 stroke average, the second-lowest single-season average in school history.

Mikkelsen finished his career third in Baylor history in both top-5 (12) and top-10 (19) finishes, and his 155 career rounds are a Baylor record. He also joined Williams (2001) as the only Baylor golfers to win a Big 12 individual title.

Scotto, a three-time first-team Academic All-Big 12 honoree, competed in eight of Baylor's 11 tournaments during his 2011-12 senior campaign. His best finish came when he shot a 2-over 218 to tie for 10th at the Rod Myers Invitational.

Scotto recorded a 74.11 stroke average over 125 rounds during his four-year Baylor career. He wrapped up his collegiate career with four top-10, nine top-15 and 18 top-25 finishes.

A total of 146 players in Division I, 52 in Division II and 14 in NAIA earned All-America Scholar honors. Additionally, 26 honorees were added to the previously released Division III Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars.

Baylor's All-Time All-America Scholars
1994 - Kory Bowman
1997 - Chris Nickens
2000 - Worth Williams
2001 - Worth Williams
2003 - Trevar Matheson
2004 - Jon Antunes
2006 - Chase Thomas
2007 - Bill Allcorn
2007 - Chase Thomas
2008 - Bill Allcorn
2011 - Joakim Mikkelsen
2011 - Lorenzo Scotto
2012 - Joakim Mikkelsen
2012 - Lorenzo Scotto



Online Store