Skip to main content Skip to footer
Men's Tennis Blanks Purdue

(5-4) Rank: #54
  #1 #2 #3 #1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6

Complete Results

(9-5) Rank: #38
#28 Zsiga d. Kovacs 6-4, 6-0
#125 Maytin d. Tatarczyk 6-4, 6-2
Krickovic d. Acosta 1-6, 6-4, 6-4
Galeano d. Krocksko 6-3, 6-2
Grangeiro d. Poaiomski 7-6(2), 6-4
Bley d. Dujovne 6-3, 7-6(5)

Maytin/Zsiga d. Tatarczyk/Dujovne  8-4
Acosta/Kovacs d. Krickovic/Verzaal  8-3
Grangeiro/Bley d. Krocksko/Hawkins 8-1 

2012 Roster
2012 Schedule
2012 Stats

March 12, 2012

WACO, Texas- Baylor’s 38th-ranked men’s tennis team extended its win streak to five matches with its 7-0 blanking of No. 54 Purdue at Loyola Marymount University’s Tennis Center in Los Angeles, Calif., on Monday afternoon. The Boilermakers are coached by former Baylor player and volunteer assistant Pawel Gajdzik.

The Bears got on the scoreboard first with two wins in doubles. Seniors Julian Bley and Kike Grangeiro walked off the court first with an 8-1 victory on court three against Purdue’s Krisztian Krocksko and Evan Hawkins. The victory was the tandem’s fourth straight and raised their season record to 6-4. The Boilermakers’ Diego Acosta and Marc Kovacs, playing on court two, evened the match at one doubles victory each with an 8-3 win over Marko Krickovic and Robert Verzaal. The Bears staked claim to the doubles point when Roberto Maytin and Mate Zsiga downed Szymon Tatarczyk and Aaron Dujovne, 8-4. The victory raised their overall record to 11-4 and their dual-match mark to 9-3.

Baylor posted two-set victories in five of the six singles matches. Diego Galeano was the first Bear to earn a victory when he won on court four over Krocksko, 6-3, 6-2. Next, Zsiga, ranked No. 28, posted a win on the top court over Kovacs, 6-4, 6-0. Matyin, ranked No. 125, clinched the match for the Bears with a 6-4, 6-2 win at No. 2 over Tatarczyk. Grangeiro, Krickovic and Bley finished out the sweep for the Bears with wins at No. 5, 3 and 6, respectively.

The Bears remain in California and will play at fourth-ranked UCLA on Wednesday, March 14, at 2 p.m. (CDT) at the Los Angeles Tennis Center.



Online Store