Men's Tennis' Brown Falls in Semifinals

Sept. 23, 2007

WACO, Texas -

Complete Tournament Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Texas' Kellen Damico became the just the second non-Baylor H.E.B. Baylor Invitational singles champion in the tournament's seven year history when he defeated sixth-seeded Moritz Baumann of Wisconsin 6-2, 6-3 in the tournament finals on Sunday at the Baylor Tennis Center.

UT-Arlington's Andy Leber claimed the singles championship the first year of the tournament (2001) but since then Baylor players had won title five consecutive titles. Benedikt Dorsch won in 2002 and `03, Matija Zgaga triumphed in 2004 and Lars Poerschke claimed the 2005 crown and Michal Kokta was the 2006 winner.

Baylor's Matt Brown, the last Bear remaining in the tournament, lost in the semifinals on Sunday morning to Baumann. After falling behind 5-0 in the first set, Brown stormed back before eventually losing the set 7-5. Baumann then regained his edge and won the second set 6-2. Damico advanced to the finals after second-seeded Robbye Poole (Ole Miss) withdrew due to illness.

"We didn't know Baumann's style of play and it took us (the coaches) three games to figure him out and two more for Brownie to believe us. Once he started executing, the match took a turn for the better. But, he just wasn't able to sustain it," said Baylor head coach Matt Knoll.



"The tournament was a super start for us, we played a lot of matches against tough competition, that's what these tournaments are all about. The tournament results showcased the depth of our team," added Knoll.

In doubles Ole Miss's Jonas Berg and Erling Tviet, the tournament's No. 2 seed, defeated fourth-seeded Ralph Knupfer and Christoph Mueller of Rice 8-3.

Complete tournament results can be viewed at:
Tournament id = 809678007.

HEB Baylor Invitational Sunday Results
Green (A) Bracket
(6) Moritz Baumann (Wisconsin) def. Matt Brown (BU) 7-5, 6-2
Kellen Damico (UT) def. (2) Robbye Poole (Ole Miss) 5-2 Ret. Inj.

Damico def. (6) Baumann 6-2, 6-3

(2) Jonas Berg/Erling Tveit (Ole Miss) def. (4) Ralp;h Knupfer/Christoph Mueller (Rice) 8-3

Online Store