Men's Tennis Players Earn ITA Regional Honors

May 12, 2008

WACO, Texas - Baylor men's tennis players Lars Poerschke and Denes Lukacs earned Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) South Central Region awards the ITA announced recently. The national award winners will be announced on May 20.

Poerschke, a senior and three-time All-American, was named the South Central Region's Senior Player of the Year and was the region's recipient of the ITA/Arthur Ashe Award for Leadership & Sportsmanship, which goes to a player who has exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and leadership as well as scholastic, extracurricular and tennis achievements.

The Buseck, Germany, native is the third Bear to be named the region's Senior Player of the Year, former Baylor players Benedikt Dorsch and Michal Kokta won the award in 2005 and '07, respectively. In addition, he joins Mark William (2001) in receiving the Ashe Award for Leadership and Sportsmanship award.

Lukacs, a sophomore from Eger, Hungary who owns a team-best 42-9 singles record, is the program's third regional Player to Watch winner. Johann Jooste won the award in 1998 & '99 while Benjamin Becker was the 2002 winner. The ITA Player to Watch Award goes to a player who has an outstanding season and is expected to perform at a high level the rest of his or her career. This award's criteria also includes a player's sportsmanship and character.

Poerschke and Lukacs have both been selected to participate in the NCAA Singles Championships, May 21-26 in Tulsa, Okla.



Online Store