Go Bears!
GO Bears!
Go Bears!
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Six Earn Regional Tennis Honors

Freshman Lenka Broosova was named Regional Rookie of the Year.

Freshman Lenka Broosova was named Regional Rookie of the Year.

May 15, 2007

WACO, Texas - Six Earn Regional Tennis Honors Four players and two coaches honored in respective regions.

WACO, Texas - Four Baylor tennis players and two coaches, recently received ITA Region honors. Men's head coach Matt Knoll and his assistant Kyle Spencer as well as Lenka Broosova, Zuzana Cerna, Michal Kokta and Zuzana Zemenova were honored. Three women's players, Broosova, Cerna and Zemenova were Southwest Region recipients.

Zemenova, a junior, was the region's recipient of the Arthur Ashe Jr. Leadership & Sportsmanship Award. The award is given to the player who has exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and leadership as well as scholastic, extracurricular and tennis achievements. She becomes the fourth Baylor recipient joining Melissa Castro (1993 & '95), Sarah Chester (1996) and Carolyn McGrath (1997).

Cerna received the Cissie Leary Sportsmanship award, which goes to the player who displays inspiring dedication and commitment to her team, which has enhanced her team's performance and exemplified the spirit of college tennis. She is the fourth Baylor player to earn the honor joining Claudia Aguilar (2000), Karin Anderson (2001) and Zuzana Krchnakova (2006).

Broosova, a freshman, became Baylor's fourth recipient of the Rookie Player of the Year award joining Katja Kovac (1999), Vida Mulec (2000) and Zemenova (2005). ON the men's side, Knoll, Spencer and Kokta received South Central Region awards.

After guiding the Bears to a 26-3 record so far, a No. 4 ranking, a Big 12 Conference regular season title and league championship, Knoll was honored for the fourth time as the region's coach of the year. He was also chosen in 2002, `03 and `05.

With his selection as the region's assistant coach of the year, Kyle Spencer, in his first season at Baylor, becomes the fourth BU assistant to receive the honor. He joins Kevin Kowalik (1998), Sam Winterbotham (2002) and Rob Cheyne (2005) on the list.

Michal Kokta was named Farnsworth/ITA South Central Regional Senior Player of the Year, becoming just the second BU player to earn the honor. Benedikt Dorsch was the 2005 honoree. Kokta, ranked No. 19 nationally, sports a 26-10 singles record.



   Shop Now at the Official Online Store