MT's Kyle Spencer Earns National Award

Third-year assistant coach Kyle Spencer was named 2009 National Assistant Coach of the Year.

May 19, 2009

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced the national award winners for NCAA Division I tennis today and Baylor's Kyle Spencer was named ITA National Assistant Coach of the Year. The awards were announced during a ceremony at The Zone Club/Kyle Field on the campus of Texas A&M University.

During his three years with the team, Spencer has helped coach the Bears to the NCAA semifinals, two NCAA quarterfinals, three Big 12 Conference championships and three Big 12 Tournament championships. In addition he has helped develop two All-Americans, Lars Poerschke and Denes Lukacs. In 2007 Spencer received the ITA South Central Region Assistant Coach of the Year award and in 2008, he coached the USTA Summer Collegiate Team. The Bears have posted a 79-19 record overall and are 17-1 in Big 12 Conference action over the three-year span. In 2008-09, Baylor was 26-6 overall and 6-0 in Big 12 Conference play.

The Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif., native and University of Southern California graduate is the first Baylor assistant coach to receive the national award.

2009 Men's Award Winners:
Wilson/ITA National Coach of the Year - Ty Tucker, Ohio State
ITA National Assistant Coach of the Year - Kyle Spencer, Baylor
ITA/Farnsworth National Senior Player of the Year - Arnau Brugues, Tulsa
ITA National Rookie of the Year - Bradley Klahn, Stanford
ITA National Player to Watch - Oleksandr Nedovyesov, Oklahoma State
ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr. Award for Leadership and Sportsmanship - Blake Strode, Arkansas
ITA/Rafael Osuna Sportsmanship Award - Clancy Shields, Boise State
ITA/John Van Nostrand Memorial Award - Conor Pollock, Texas A&M



Additionally, Baylor head coach and director of tennis operations Matt Knoll was named Wilson/ITA South Central Region Coach of the Year.

Online Store