Skip to main content Skip to footer
WBB's Griner and Sims on Wooden Award Midseason List

Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims are two of 20 named to Wooden Award midseason list.

Jan. 22, 2013

For the second straight season, Baylor women's basketball players Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims have been named to the midseason Wooden Award list. The Los Angeles Athletic Club announced on the list on Tuesday in Los Angeles.

Selected by the Wooden Award National Advisory Board, the list is made up of 20 student-athletes who, based on their performances in November, December, and January, are the frontrunners for selection to prestigious award. The final ballot will consist of approximately 15 players who have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA.

The five-member Wooden Award All American Team will be announced the week of the "Elite Eight" round of the NCAA Tournament. The John R. Wooden Award Player of the Year will be announced on April 12, 2013, at The Los Angeles Athletic Club as part of the 37th annual Wooden Award Gala. The Gala will honor the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners, All Americans and the Legends of Coaching Award winner, Kansas head coach Bill Self.

Griner, the 2012 Wooden Award winner and two-time All American, averages a team-leading 21.6 points, 8.1 rebounds and 3.5 blocks per game for Baylor. Griner is poised to become the Big 12 Conferences' all-time leading scorer and needs just 13 blocks to claim the NCAA Division I blocked shot record. Sims, a junior guard, one of the nation's best on-ball defenders, is averaging 12.5 points, 5.2 assists, 2.9 steals and 2.4 rebounds a contest.

Complete list of nominees: Alex Bentley (Penn State), Kelsey Bone (Texas A&M), Elena Delle Donne$ (Delaware), Skylar Diggins$ (Notre Dame), Stefanie Dolson (UConn), Kelly Faris (UConn), Angel Goodrich (Kansas), Chelsea Gray (Duke), Brittney Griner #$% (Baylor), Tianna Hawkins (Maryland), Tayler Hill (Ohio State), Maggie Lucas (Penn State), A'dia Mathies (Kentucky), Kayla McBride (Notre Dame), Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (UConn), Chiney Ogwumike (Stanford), Sugar Rodgers (Georgetown), Odyssey Sims (Baylor), Alyssa Thomas (Maryland), Elizabeth Williams (Duke).



# 2012 Wooden Award winner
$ 2012 Wooden All American
% 2011 Wooden All American

Online Store