Skip to main content Skip to footer
WBB - Griner and Sims on USBWA Midseason List

BU teammates Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims were named to the USBWA's Midseason Watch List.

Feb. 9, 2012

Baylor teammates Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims have been selected to the Midseason Watch List for the Women's National Player of the Year the U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced Thursday. Members of the association's board of directors chose 20 players to be included on the list as contenders for the trophy, which will be presented to the national player of the year in Denver at the USBWA's Women's College Basketball Awards Breakfast on April 3.

While these 20 standout players are the leading contenders to be named to the USBWA's All-America Team and as finalists for the Women's National Player of the Year award, all Division I players remain eligible for postseason honors from the USBWA. The association will announce its 2012 All-America Team in mid-March. At that time, finalists will also be chosen for the player of the year. Once finalists are announced, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the winner of the National Player of the Year.

Griner (2010) and Sims (2011) have both been honored by the USBWA as Freshmen of the Year while Baylor head coach Kim Mulkey was the association's coach of the year last season. Griner and former Lady Bear Sophia Young have been named USBWA All-Americans, Griner in 2011 and Young in both 2005 and `06.

Following is the complete watch list:

G/F - Elena Delle Donne, Delaware (6-5, Jr., Wilmington, Del.)
G - Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame (5-9, Sr., South Bend, Ind.)
G - Chelsea Gray, Duke (5-11, So., Stockton, Calif.)
C - Brittney Griner, Baylor (6-8, Jr., Houston, Texas)
G - Bria Hartley, Connecticut (5-7, So., North Babylon, N.Y.)
G - Tayler Hill, Ohio State (5-10, Jr., Minneapolis, Minn.)
G - Shenise Johnson, Miami (5-11, Sr., Henrietta, N.Y.)
G - A'dia Mathies, Kentucky (5-9, Jr., Oakland, Calif.)
F - Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, Connecticut (6-0, Fr., Anaheim Hills, Calif.)
G - Natalie Novosel, Notre Dame (5-11, Sr., Lexington, Ky.)
F - Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford (6-3, So., Cypress, Texas)
F - Nneka Ogwumike, Stanford (6-2, Sr., Cypress, Texas)
F - Devereaux Peters, Notre Dame (6-2, Sr., Chicago, Ill.)
G - Samantha Prahalis, Ohio State (5-7, Jr., Commack, N.Y.)
F - Niveen Rasheed, Princeton (6-0, Jr., Danville, Calif.)
G - Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown (5-11, Jr., Suffolk, Va.)
G - Khadijah Rushdan, Rutgers (5-9, Sr., Wilmington, Del.)
G - Odyssey Sims, Baylor (5-8, So., Irving, Texas)
F - Alyssa Thomas, Maryland (6-2, So., Harrisburg, Pa.)
G - Riquna Williams, Miami (5-7, Sr., Pahokee, Fla.)



Since the 1987-88 season, the USBWA has named a Women's National Player of the Year.

Online Store