Lambert Named Naismith Award Finalist

Feb. 12, 2002

WACO, Texas - Baylor's Sheila Lambert is one of 20 finalists for the Women's Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year Award it was announced today by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Lambert, a 5-7 senior point guard from Seattle, Wash., averages 19.5 points, 4.3 rebounds, 4.91 assists and 3.04 steals per game. Lambert ranks among the top three in the Big 12 in scoring, steals and assists and is also among the nation's best in those categories.

The Naismith Board of Selectors, which includes some of the country's leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators, began the selection process earlier this year and have reduced the number of finalists to 20. Teammate Danielle Crockrom was on the early list but missed the cut to the final 20.

The winners of the Naismith Award, the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball, will be honored in Atlanta on Friday, April 5, 2002.

The finalists for the Women's Naismith College Player of the Year are:
Chantelle Anderson, Vanderbilt
Alana Beard, Duke
Sue Bird, Connecticut
Swin Cash, Connecticut
LaNeisha Caufield, Oklahoma
Stacey Dales, Oklahoma
Deanna Jackson, UAB
Gwen Jackson, Tennessee
Sheila Lambert, Baylor University
Kara Lawson, Tennessee
Kelly Mazzante, Penn State
Brandi McCain, Florida
Nicole Powell, Stanford
Michelle Snow, Tennessee
Diana Taurasi, Connecticut
LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State
Ayana Walker, Louisiana Tech
Angie Welle, Iowa State
Tamika Williams, Connecticut
Shereka Wright, Purdue



Online Store