WBB Quartet Earns Academic All-Big 12

Feb. 15, 2011

Four members of the Baylor's women's basketball team were named to the Academic All-Big 12 team, the league office announced on Tuesday. Juniors Ashley Field and Lindsay Palmer were selected to the first team, while seniors Melissa Jones and Whitney Zachariason earned second-team honors.

Zachariason becomes Baylor's fifth player to be honored three times, joining former Lady Bears Nicole Collins, Jessika Stratton, Steffanie Blackmon and Rachel Allison. Field and Palmer earned their second straight recognition while Jones was selected for the first time. All told, 18 Lady Bears have earned Academic All-Big 12 status 33 times.

To qualify for the Academic All-Big 12 team, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests.

Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The academic all-league squad consists of 30 first-team members combined with 16 on the second team. First- team members include those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

Baylor Academic All-Big 12 Selections
Year Player Team
1998-99 Brittany Bruns, Nicole Collins, Lara Webb First team
Eboni Hammond Honorable mention
1999-00 Hilary Akromis, Cynthia Benson, Brittany Bruns, Nicole Collins First team
2000-01 Nicole Collins, Hilary Akromis, Michelle Neely First team
2001-02 Nicole Collins, Brooke McCormack, Jessika Stratton First team
2002-03 Steffanie Blackmon, Jessika Stratton First team
2003-04 Steffanie Blackmon, Jessika Stratton First team
2004-05 Steffanie Blackmon, Chanelle Fox First team
2006-07 Rachel Allison, Jessica Morrow Second team
2007-08 Rachel Allison, Haylee Abbe First team
2008-09 Rachel Allison, Whitney Zachariason First team
2009-10 Ashley Field, Lindsay Palmer First team
Whitney Zachariason Second team
2010-11 Ashley Field, Lindsay Palmer First team
Melissa Jones, Whitney Zachariason Second team



Online Store