Skip to main content Skip to footer
Sims Among 22 Finalists for Nancy Lieberman Award

Senior Odyssey Sims is one of 22 finalists for Lieberman Award.

Feb. 25, 2014

SPRINGFIELD, MASS. - Baylor senior guard has been named among 22 finalists for the 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Monday. The award is bestowed annually on the top point guard in women's NCAA Division I college basketball. From this list, the candidates will be narrowed down to five finalists in March and the winner will be announced at the NCAA Final Four in April.

Sims leads the nation in scoring at 29.9 points per game. The 5-8 Irving, Texas, native is averaging 4.6 rebounds a contest while dishing out 4.9 assists per game and shooting 46.0 percent from the floor, including .435 from beyond the arc. With 606 career assists, Sims is the program's all-time leader and also owns BU's career 3-point field goal record with 247 makes. In addition, with 2,316 career points, she is the fifth Lady Bear player to reach the 2,000-point milestone and stands fourth on BU's all-time list. With 87 treys, Sims is Baylor's single-season 3-point leader. She recently became the third player in Big 12 history with 2,000 points and 600 assists in a career, joining OSU's Andrea Riley and OU's Danielle Robinson.

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include last year's recipient Skylar Diggins(Notre Dame), Sue Bird (Connecticut), Renee Montgomery (Connecticut), Diana Taurasi (Connecticut), Lindsey Harding (Duke), Courtney Vandersloot (Gonzaga), Temeka Johnson (LSU), Kristi Toliver (Maryland), Ivory Latta (North Carolina) and Andrea Riley (Oklahoma State).

2014 Nancy Lieberman Award Candidates
Odyssey Sims-Baylor University

Jerica Coley-Florida International University
Yashira Delgado-Florida State University
Damika Martinez-Iona College
Ashley Deary-Northwestern University
Tiffany Bias-Oklahoma State University
Fantasia Hilliard-Sacramento State University
Amber Orrange-Stanford University
Natasha Cloud-St. Joseph's University
Joanna Harden-Troy University
Brittany Boyd-University of California, Berkeley
Bria Hartley-University of Connecticut
Moriah Jefferson-University of Connecticut
Samantha Logic-University of Iowa
Valencia McFarland-University of Mississippi
Lindsay Allen-University of Notre Dame
Jamierra Faulkner-University of Southern Mississippi
Heather Butler-University of Tennessee at Martin
Jennifer Newsome-University of Tennessee at Martin
Andola Dortch-University of Toledo
Jennifer Schlott-Utah State University
Dequesha McClanahan-Winthrop University



Online Store