Wilson Named to Mid-Season Naismith Award List

Feb. 26, 2009

ATLANTA - Baylor University junior post Danielle Wilson has been selected one of 30 mid-season candidates for the 2009 Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T, which was announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club on Wednesday.

Wilson leads sixth-ranked Baylor in scoring, rebounding and blocked shots this season with 15.4 points, 9.7 rebounds and 3.2 blocks a game. The Bay Shore, N.Y. native leads the Big 12 in blocks, ranks No. 2 in rebounding and No. 7 in scoring. In addition, she ranks No. 8 nationally in blocked shots, is No. 32 in rebounding and No. 49 in field goal percentage (.508).

On Feb. 25 against Texas Tech, Wilson recorded her 1,000th career point, becoming the third Lady Bear to do so this season, she now has 1,008 points. Wilson ranks No. 3 in the Big 12 Conference in career blocks with 248 and needs just five to break her own single-season block record of 86 which she set as a rookie.

Other mid-season candidates that were selected are Jayne Appel (Stanford), Chante Black (Duke), DeWanna Bonner (Auburn), Jessica Breland (UNC), Tina Charles (Connecticut), Alysha Clark (Middle Tennessee St.), Shayla Fields (N.C. State), Rachele Fitz (Marist), Tyra Grant (Penn State), Laura Kurz (Villanova), Jantel Lavender (Ohio State), Shalee Lehning (Kansas State), Lyndra Littles (Virginia), Angel McCoughtry (Louisville), Danielle McCray (Kansas), Aisha Mohammed (Virginia), Renee Montgomery (Connecticut), Maya Moore (Connecticut), Ashley Paris (Oklahoma), Courtney Paris (Oklahoma), Ta'Shia Phillips (Xavier), Epiphanny Prince (Rutgers), Andrea Riley (Oklahoma State), Kristi Toliver (Maryland), Ashley Walker (California), Morgan Warburton (Utah), Lindsay Wisdom-Hylton (Purdue), Monica Wright (Virginia) and Shavonte Zellous (Pittsburgh).

The top 30 women's list was voted on by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season. The vote was tabulated and certified by the accounting firm of Habif, Arogeti & Wynne, LLP. HA&W is the largest independent accounting firm in Georgia and one of the top 50 firms in the United States.



The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national basketball award given annually to the women's college basketball player of the year. This 2009 winner will be announced at the NCAA Women's Final Four in St. Louis. For the sixth consecutive season, presenting sponsor AT&T will once again set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining this year's winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for an unprecedented 25 percent of the final results -- more than any other national college basketball award. This year, beginning March 22, AT&T wireless customers -- and sports fans on other wireless networks -- will be able to text their votes for the player of their choice.

Fans will be eligible to cast their vote for the winner until 9 p.m. EDT on Saturday, April 4. AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers, allowing even more fans to participate. Other wireless carriers must opt-in for their subscribers to participate.

Online Store