Skip to main content Skip to footer
Griner and Sims Named to Midseason Naismith Trophy List

Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims were both named to the Naismith Trophy Midseason List.

Feb. 29, 2012

Baylor teammates Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims are two of 32 of the top women's basketball players named to the Naismith Women's College Player of the Year Award list the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

The midseason list of 32 was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the 2011-12 season. The Naismith Trophy, presented by AT&T, will be awarded on April 1, 2012, at the NCAA Women's Final Four in Denver.

Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging fan voting will account for 25 percent of all of the final results - more than any other national college basketball award.

Griner, a junior, is averaging 22.7 points per game and is among the nation's leaders in scoring, rebounding (9.7), field goal percentage (.601) and blocks (.52). Griner, a preseason consensus All-American and preseason Big 12 Player of the Year, became the first player in NCAA history to score 2,000 points and block 500 shots. The 6-8 post has scored 2,177 points while blocking 548 shots in her career. She needs just 117 blocks to move to No. 1 on the NCAA Division Career Top 10 list.

Sims, a sophomore and just one of seven underclassmen listed, averages 14.7 points per game, including 20.1 points an outing vs. ranked opponents, and 4.8 assists, 3.1 steals and 3.0 rebounds per contest. She is shooting .455 percent from the floor and an impressive .804 percent from the free throw line.

2012 Naismith Trophy Midseason List
Alex Bentley - Penn State
Elena Delle Donne - Delaware
Skylar Diggins - Notre Dame
Shante Evans - Hofstra
Chelsea Gray - Duke
Brittney Griner - Baylor
Bria Hartley - Connecticut
Tayler Hill - Ohio State
Jordan Hooper - Nebraska
Courtney Hurt - VCU
Jessica Jenkins - St. Bonaventure
Glory Johnson - Tennessee
Shenise Johnson - Miami
Maggie Lucas - Penn State
Anna Martin - DePaul
A'dia Mathies - Kentucky
Lindsey Moore - Nebraska
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis - Connecticut
Natalie Novosel - Notre Dame
Chiney Ogwumike - Stanford
Nneda Ogwumike - Stanford
Deveraux Peters - Notre Dame
Samantha Prahalis - Ohio State
Brittany Rayburn - Purdue
Sugar Rodgers - Georgetown
Khadijah Rushdan - Rutgers
Odyssey Sims - Baylor
Shekinna Stricklen - Tennessee
Alyssa Thomas - Maryland
Elizabeth Williams - Duke
Riquna Williams - Miami
Julie Wojta - Wisconsin-Green Bay



Online Store