Skip to main content Skip to footer
Kim Mulkey on USBWA's Coach of the Year Watch List

Kim Mulkey is a candidate for the USBWA's Coach of the Year.

March 1, 2012

WACO, Texas - Baylor women's basketball head coach Kim Mulkey has been named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association watch lists for the National Coach of the Year. Mulkey earned the association's Coach of the Year award last season after taking the team to a school-record 34-3 season mark.

Mulkey is one of 10 coaches named to the watch list for the National Coach of the Year. The others are Delaware's Tina Martin, Jim Crowley of St. Bonaventure, Princeton's Courtney Banghart, Duke's Joanne P. McCallie, Kentucky's Matthew Mitchell, Notre Dame's Muffet McGraw, Penn State's Coquese Washington, St. John's Kim Barnes Arico and Stanford's Tara VanDerveer.

Mulkey has led her top-ranked and undefeated Baylor squad to its second-straight 30-win season and third under her 12-year tenure. The Lady Bears, 30-0 on the season, claimed their second straight Big 12 Conference regular season championship, with a 17-0 mark and one game left to play.

In just her 12th season as a head coach, Mulkey attained 300 career victories and ranks No. 4 among the winningest active Division I head coaches (.806) and No. 5 all-time by percentage. Of the three active coaches ranked ahead of her, Mulkey reached 300 wins the fastest. It took Geno Auriemma (Connecticut) and Pat Summitt (Tennessee) each 13 seasons to attain the milestone and Stanford's Tara VanDerveer needed 14 years to reach 300.

Baylor's USBWA Honors
Sophia Young - All-America

Brittney Griner - Freshman of the Year

Kim Mulkey - Coach of the Year
Brittney Griner - All-America
Odyssey Sims - Freshman of the Year



Online Store