Three Lady Bears Earn Academic Honors

March 5, 2010

IRVING, Texas -

Complete list in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Three members of the Baylor's women's basketball team were named to the Academic All-Big 12 team, the league office announced on Thursday. Sophomores Ashley Field and Lindsay Palmer were selected to the first team, while junior Whitney Zachariason earned second-team honors.

Field, a general studies major, has played in 28 Lady Bear games this season and started two contests. The 6-2 post from Burnet, Texas, averages 6.4 points and 3.5 rebounds a contest and maintains the team's best shooting percentage at .622 (69-111). Palmer, a psychology major from Tulsa, Okla., has played in 19 games this season with two starts. The 5-10 guard averages 1.5 points and 1.8 rebounds a contest. Zachariason, a 6-2 forward/post, averages 1.5 points and 1.1 rebounds in 17 games this season. The Little Rock, Ark., native, a general studies major, is a two-time Academic All-Big 12 selection after earning first-team honors last season.

To qualify for the Academic All-Big 12 team, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of her team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The academic all-league squad consists of 34 first-team members combined with 13 on the second team. First- team members include those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

Baylor Academic All-Big 12 Selections
Year - Player - Team
1998-99 Brittany Bruns, Nicole Collins, Lara Webb- First team
1998-99 Eboni Hammond - Honorable mention
1999-00 Hilary Akromis, Cynthia Benson, Brittany Bruns, Nicole Collins - First team
2000-01 Nicole Collins, Hilary Akromis, Michelle Neely - First team
2001-02 Nicole Collins, Brooke McCormack, Jessika Stratton - First team
2002-03 Steffanie Blackmon, Jessika Stratton - First team
2003-04 Steffanie Blackmon, Jessika Stratton - First team
2004-05 Steffanie Blackmon, Chanelle Fox - First team
2006-07 Rachel Allison, Jessica Morrow - Second team
2007-08 Rachel Allison, Haylee Abbe - First team
2008-09 Rachel Allison, Whitney Zachariason - First team
2009-10 Ashley Field, Lindsay Palmer - First team
Whitney Zachariason - Second team



Online Store