Skip to main content Skip to footer
Griner and Sims State Farm® Wade Trophy Finalists

Odyssey Sims and Brittney Griner are Wade Trophy finailists.

March 23, 2012

ATLANTA - The State Farm® Wade Trophy Committee, along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS), announced today the 12 finalists in contention for The State Farm Wade Trophy, which is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding NCAA® Division I women's basketball player.

Baylor junior post Brittney Griner and sophomore guard Odyssey Sims were both on the 12-member list. The occasion marks the first time in program history that two Baylor players have been Wade Trophy finalists. Griner was a finalist in 2011 while Sophia Young and Bernice Mosby were finalists in 2006 and '07, respectively.

"I look forward to the naming of these finalists each year," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "These 12 finalists are the game's most elite players and exciting to watch. One of these talented student-athletes will be chosen to receive the sport's most prestigious award - the Wade Trophy."

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members composed of leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators. The committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member NCAA Division I State Farm Coaches' All-America Team. The winner will be announced on during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5 p.m. MT Monday, April 2, in Denver. The event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®.

The State Farm Wade Trophy Finalists are as follows: Elena Delle Donne (Delaware), Skylar Diggins (Notre Dame), Brittney Griner (Baylor), Shenise Johnson (Miami), Anna Martin (DePaul), A'dia Mathies (Kentucky), Chiney Ogwumike (Stanford), Nneka Ogwumike (Stanford), Samantha Prahalis (Ohio State), Odyssey Sims (Baylor), Alyssa Thomas (Maryland), Julie Wojta (Green Bay).



The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 35th year, is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Online Store