Griner Named Wade Trophy Finalist

March 25, 2011

ATLANTA – Baylor sophomore Brittney Griner is one of 12 finalists for the prestigious State Farm® Wade Trophy. The State Farm® Wade Trophy Committee along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) announced the finalists on Thursday. The award is presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA® Division I women’s basketball player.

“March Madness, this is what we live for!” said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. “I congratulate each of these 12 finalists, from which one will receive 'The Heisman of Women’s Basketball.'”

Griner, a 6-8 sophomore post, is the lone underclassman on the 12-member list. The Houston, Texas, native is averaging a team-leading 22.6 points and 7.7 rebounds a game this season, which ranks among the NCAA Division I and Big 12 Conference leaders. In addition, she has blocked a nation-best 162 shots. Griner was recently named Most Outstanding Player of the Big 12 Championship, All-Big 12 first team, Big 12 Player of the Year, Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year and to the league’s All-Defensive team. In addition, she is a finalist for both the Wooden and Naismith awards.

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball administrators. The committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member NCAA Division I State Farm Coaches’ All-America Team. The winner will be announced at 9 a.m. EDT Saturday, April 2, in Indianapolis during the WBCA National Convention, which is being held in conjunction with the 2011 NCAA® Women’s Final Four®.

The State Farm Wade Trophy Finalists are:

Player Institution Year Pos
Danielle Adams Texas A&M Sr. F/C
Victoria Dunlap Kentucky Sr. F
Brittney Griner BAYLOR So. C
Amber Harris Xavier Sr. F
Jantel Lavender Ohio State Sr. C
Maya Moore UConn Sr. F
Nneka Ogwumike Stanford Jr. C
Kayla Pedersen Stanford Sr. F
Jeanette Pohlen Stanford Sr. G
Danielle Robinson Oklahoma Sr. G
Shekinna Stricklen Tennessee Jr. F
Courtney Vandersloot Gonzaga Sr. G

“State Farm is extremely proud to recognize and congratulate these 12 outstanding athletes as finalists for The 2011 State Farm Wade Trophy,” said Pam El, Marketing Vice President for State Farm. “Their dedication and commitment epitomize the true meaning of student-athlete and they are all very deserving of this great honor.”

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 34th year, is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as “The Heisman of Women’s Basketball,” debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Last year’s State Farm Wade Trophy winner was Connecticut’s Maya Moore, who also won the award in 2009 and joined Seimone Augustus (2005 and 2006) and Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980) as the award’s only two-time recipients. The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Candace Parker (2007), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002) and Diana Taurasi (2003).

The State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be formally presented her award during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 6 p.m. EDT Monday, April 4, in the Indiana Convention Center’s Sagamore Ballroom. This event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four® in Indianapolis.



Online Store