Skip to main content Skip to footer
Odyssey Sims a Wade Trophy Finalist

Odyssey Sims is one of 12 finalists for the Wade Trophy.

March 27, 2014

For the third straight season of her highly successful four-year career, Odyssey Sims is a finalist for the prestigious Wade Trophy. The Wade Trophy Committee, along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and SHAPE America, announced today the 12 finalists for the award which is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding NCAA® Division I women's basketball player.

Sims, a 5-8 senior guard from Irving, Texas, is averaging 28.5 ppg, which ranks No. 2 nationally, as well as 4.5 assists, 4.6 rebounds and 2.0 steals. She is shooting .445 from the floor, .402 from 3-point range and .806 from the free throw line. With 996 points scored in 2013-14, Sims is four points shy of becoming just the second NCAA Division I women's player to score over 1,000 points in a season. Jackie Stiles (Missouri State) set the record in the 2000-01 season with 1,062. Sims, with 628 career assists and 254 treys, ranks No. 1 in both categories on Baylor's all-time list.

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members consisting of leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators. The committee will select the winner of The Wade Trophy from among these 12 finalists who also are named to the 10-member WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches' All-America Team when it is chosen in April. The winner will be announced during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5:30 p.m. CT Monday, April 7, in the Omni Nashville Hotel's Broadway Ballroom. The event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®.

"The Wade Trophy is one of the most exciting awards to be a part of, because these 12 finalists are the games' most elite players and are truly exciting to watch," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "This trophy is the equivalent to the Heisman Trophy, which is given out annually in collegiate football. These finalists play immense roles as members of their respective institutions' women's basketball programs and one of them will be honored with our sport's most prestigious award."



For a complete list of The Wade Trophy Finalists please visit:
WBCA Wade Trophy

The Wade Trophy, now in its 37th year, is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. Last year, Brittney Griner received the prestigious award for the second year in a row.

About SHAPE America:
The vision of the Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE America) is "Healthy People - Physically Educated and Physically Active!" Headquartered in Reston, VA, 25 miles west of Washington, DC, SHAPE America is the largest organization of professionals involved in physical education, physical activity and school health--all specialties related to achieving an active, healthy lifestyle. Founded in 1885, its mission is to advance professional practice and promote research related to health and physical education, physical activity, dance and sport by providing its members with a comprehensive and coordinated array of resources, support and programs to help practitioners improve their skills to further the health and well-being of the American public. For more information, visit

About the WBCA:
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls.

Online Store