Go Bears!
GO Bears!
Go Bears!
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
WBB Awards Continue to Roll In

Odyssey Sims and Kim Mulkey were honored by the USBWA.

Odyssey Sims and Kim Mulkey were honored by the USBWA.

March 30, 2011

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) - The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has chosen the recipients of its 2010-11 women's postseason honors. Connecticut's Maya Moore is the National Player of the Year, while Baylor's Kim Mulkey is the National Coach of the Year and Baylor's Odyssey Sims is the National Freshman of the Year. All three selections will be honored at the USBWA Women's Awards Breakfast on Tues., April 5 in Indianapolis.

Sims, a 5-9 point guard, who led the Big 12 in 3-point field goal percentage to go with 13.1 points per game, is the second straight Baylor player to earn national freshman of the year honors after Brittney Griner earned that distinction a season ago. Mulkey, who led the Lady Bears to a 34-3 record, the Big 12 championship and the Elite Eight, is the second straight national coach of the year from the Big 12, following Nebraska's Connie Yori last season.

Griner was named to the organization's 10-member All-American squad. Griner, a 6-8 sophomore post, averaged a team-leading 23.0 points and 7.8 rebounds a game this season, which ranks among the NCAA Division I and Big 12 Conference leaders. In addition, she blocked a nation-best 170 shots. Griner was recently named Most Outstanding Player of the Big 12 Championship, All-Big 12 first team, Big 12 Player of the Year, Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, to the league's All-Defensive team and to the NCAA Championship Dallas Regional All-Tournament team. In addition, she is a finalist for the Naismith, Wooden and Wade Trophy awards. Griner has also been named both an AP and Wooden Award All-American.

Griner joins former Lady Bear Sophia Young as the only Baylor players to be named a USBWA All-American. Young was honored in 2004-05 and 2005-06.



Following is the complete list of 2010-11 USBWA women's honors:
Danielle Adams, Texas A&M F/C 6-1 Sr. (Kansas City, Mo.)
Brittney Griner, Baylor C 6-8 So. (Houston, Texas)
Amber Harris, Xavier F 6-5 Sr. (Indianapolis, Ind.)
Shenise Johnson, Miami G 5-11 Jr. (Henrietta, N.Y.)
Jantel Lavender, Ohio State C 6-4 Sr. (Cleveland, Ohio)
Maya Moore, Connecticut F 6-0 Sr. (Lawrenceville, Ga.)
Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford F 6-2 Jr. (Cypress, Texas)
Jeanette Pohlen, Stanford G 6-0 Sr. (Brea, Calif.)
Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee G/F 6-2 Jr. (Morrilton, Ark.)
Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga G 5-8 Sr. (Kent, Wash.)

Player of the Year: Maya Moore, Connecticut
Coach of the Year: Kim Mulkey, Baylor
Freshman of the Year: Odyssey Sims, Baylor

   Shop Now at the Official Online Store