Skip to main content Skip to footer
WBB's Mulkey Grabs Naismith Coach of the Year

Kim Mulkey

April 3, 2012

ATLANTA - Leading Baylor to a perfect 39-0 record heading into tonight's NCAA
Women's Championship game, Baylor's Kim Mulkey was named the 2012 Naismith Women's College
Coach of the Year, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. She edged out Jim Crowley (St.
Bonaventure), 2001 winner Muffett McGraw (Notre Dame) and last year's winner, Tara VanDerveer
(Stanford), to win her first Naismith Coach of the Year award. The Naismith Award is the most
prestigious national award presented annually to the women's college basketball coach of the year.

Mulkey was selected by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's National Voting Academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The academy based its criteria on coaching performances this season. The vote was tabulated and certified by the accounting firm of Habif, Arogeti & Wynne, LLP. HA&W is the largest independent accounting firm in Georgia and one of the top 50 firms in the United States.

"Going undefeated has become a hallmark of great women's college basketball coaches, and we're thrilled that Kim has a chance to join that club," said Eric Oberman, Executive Director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. "We congratulate Kim on this honor as she is a very deserving recipient of the Naismith Award and wish her the best of luck in tonight's championship game."

During her 12th season as Baylor's head basketball coach, Mulkey guided the team to an undefeated regular-season record (34-0) and a top ranking team the entire season. Baylor captured both the 2012 Big 12 Conference regular season and tournament crowns and Mulkey was selected as the Big 12 Conference Coach of the Year.

For the first time in program history, Baylor received the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Women's Championship. They defeated UC Santa Barbara, Florida, Georgia Tech, Tennessee and Stanford in the tournament so far and will face Notre Dame tonight for the 2012 title. If Baylor wins, they will become the first team in NCAA history to win 40 games in a single season.

"I am truly humbled to receive this year's Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year award. I would like to thank the Atlanta Tipoff Club and its voting panel for the honor. The organization does an outstanding job of promoting the game of basketball and I appreciate their efforts," Mulkey said. "This award is a credit to my staff and the great group of young ladies I coach."

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded during the 1956-57 season, has presented the Naismith Trophy every year since UCLA's Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969. Old Dominion's Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women's Naismith Trophy in 1983.

The Naismith Award has become the most prestigious award in all of college basketball, recognizing the Men's and Women's College Basketball Player of the Year, Men's and Women's College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and contribution to the game.



Online Store