Skip to main content Skip to footer
Odyssey Sims 1 of 3 Finalists for Defensive POY

Odyssey Sims is one of three finalists for national Defensive Player of the Year.

April 3, 2014

ATLANTA - The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today the finalists for the 2014 WBCA Division I Defensive Player of the Year presented by the United States Marine Corps.

They are:
• Stefanie Dolson, 6-5, Sr., C, University of Connecticut
• Chiney Ogwumike, 6-4, Sr., F, Stanford University
Odyssey Sims, 5-8, Sr., G, Baylor University

The Defensive Player of the Year award honors the best defensive collegiate Division I women's basketball player. All Division I conference defensive players of the year are eligible to be nominated for the award. A selection committee makes the final decision on the winner. If a conference does not select a defensive player of the year, the conference representative can nominate one player to be considered.

"These finalists are the ones who make their opponents change up offenses in hopes of being able to find ways to score," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "The age-old adage, `defense wins games,' continues to be a dominant factor in the game and each of these women have made it a key component in their play. I wish each of these ladies the best of luck at the WBCA Awards Show in Nashville!"

"The United States Marine Corps is honored to recognize three of women's college basketball leading players as finalists for the WBCA's Division I Defensive Player of the Year Award," said Maj. Gen. Mark Brilakis, Commanding General, Marine Corps Recruiting Command. "Each nominee exemplifies the leadership attributes of honor, courage and commitment on the court, in the classroom and in all aspects of their lives, which are all values the Marine Corps holds in high esteem."

The winner will be announced during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5:30 p.m. CT Monday, April 7, in the Omni Nashville Hotel's Broadway Ballroom. This event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®.



Past WBCA Division I Defensive Players of the Year:
2013 - Brittney Griner, Baylor University
2012 - Brittney Griner, Baylor University
2011 - Brittney Griner, Baylor University
2010 - Monica Wright, University of Virginia
2009 - Jennifer Risper, Vanderbilt University
2008 - Sylvia Fowles, Louisiana State University
2007 - Lindsey Harding, Duke University

Online Store