Skip to main content Skip to footer
Players Honored at WBB Banquet

Jennifer Roberts presented Odyssey Sims with a team MVP award,

WACO, Texas - For the second straight year, over 1,200 fans were on hand at the annual Lady Bear Appreciation Banquet, sponsored by the Tip Off Club, at the Ferrell Center.

On Tuesday night fans participated in Baylor's celebration as they shared dinner, enjoyed the awards ceremony and watched a video of the season at the conclusion of the banquet. In addition, Baylor's six seniors, Brittney Griner, Kimetria Hayden, Jordan Madden, Brooklyn Pope, Shanay Washington and Destiny Williams, were honored and team awards were presented.

Mulkey, her staff and the squad put the finishing touches on a 34-2 season, a year in which the team was ranked No. 1 in both polls for most of the season, won for the second straight season, both the Big 12 regular-season and tournament championships and became the first league team to post back-to-back perfect seasons with 18 league wins.

Baylor's senior class, the most successful in program history, posted a four-year record of 135-15 (.900), including 108-5 (.956) over the last three seasons. This class claimed six Big 12 championships, attended two Final Fours and won the 2012 NCAA championship with a 40-0 record. The 2012-13 squad set program season records for assists (778), field goal percentage (.515) and attendance 9,160. The Lady Bears finished a program-best fourth in the NCAA Division I attendance.

Judge Ken Starr, Baylor President, and Athletics Director Ian McCaw addressed the audience prior to head coach Kim Mulkey's remarks. Mulkey reviewed the season and talked about the program's seniors. A highlight video, produced by Inside Baylor Sports' Ashley Farrell, completed the evening.



2012-13 Awards
Most Valuable Player - Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims
Rebound Award - Brittney Griner
Most Improved Player - Brooklyn Pope
Defense Award - Jordan Madden
Lady Bear Award - Destiny Williams
Melissa Jones Hustle & Courage Award - Kimetria Hayden
Coaches Award - Shanay Washington
Academic Award - Sune Agbuke

Online Store