Skip to main content Skip to footer
Women's Hoops Represented in 20th ESPY Nominations

June 27, 2012


Nominees for the 2012 ESPYs presented by Capital One were revealed today and voting has begun. Baylor is well-represented among this year's ESPY hopefuls.

The women's basketball team is nominated for best team, Brittney Griner is nominated in two categories, Best Female Athlete and Best Female Collegiate Athlete, and head coach Kim Mulkey is in the running for best coach. In addition, Robert Griffin III is nominated in the Best Breakout Athlete and Best Male Collegiate Athlete categories.

Fans will have the chance to select the winners by voting online or by mobile device at ESPY Voting

The ESPYS and related events benefit the V Foundation for Cancer Research in memory of the late Jim Valvano.

The 20th Annual ESPYS will be televised live from Los Angeles' Nokia Theater on Wednesday, July 11 at 8 p.m. (Central). Mulkey, Griner and Odyssey Sims have been invited to attend the ceremonies.


Best Team - Baylor Lady Bear Basketball, Alabama Football, Kentucky Men's Basketball, LA Kings (NHL), Miami Heat (NBA), NFL Giants, St. Louis Cardinals.

Best Female Athlete - Brittney Griner (Baylor WBB), Maria Sharapova (Tennis), Lindsey Vonn (Skiing), Abby Wambach (USA Soccer).

Best Female College Athlete - Brittney Griner (Baylor WBB), Alex Jupiter (USC Volleyball), Caitlin Levernez (Cal Swimming and Diving), Teresa Noyola (Stanford Soccer), Jackie Traina (Alabama Softball).

Best Coach/Manager - Kim Mulkey (Baylor WBB), John Calapari (Kentucky MBB), Tom Coughlin (NY Giants), Patrick Murphy (Alabama Softball), Erik Spoelstra (Miami Heat), Darryl Sutter (LA Kings).



Online Store