Skip to main content Skip to footer
WBB Announces Non-Conference Slate

BU will play seven teams that won 20-or-more games in 2013-14.

July 15, 2014

WACO, Texas - Head coach Kim Mulkey released the 2014-15 Baylor women's basketball non-conference schedule Tuesday. On its 12-game non-conference schedule, BU will play seven teams that won 20-or-more games in 2013-14.

Baylor will play eight home games and four road games in non-conference action. In addition, BU will host exhibition games against Midwestern State (Nov. 4) and Tarleton State (Nov. 10).

The Lady Bears open the 2014-15 season hosting Oral Roberts on Friday, Nov. 14, before traveling to Lexington, Ky., to take on the Kentucky Wildcats on Monday, Nov. 17. Baylor and Kentucky split their two games last season. The Wildcats, 26-9 last year, posted a 133-130 quadruple overtime win over BU in Arlington, Texas, while the Lady Bears downed UK in NCAA Championship Sweet 16 action, 90-72, at South Bend, Ind. BU will host the four-team BTI Classic on Nov. 28-30. Traveling to Waco will be Stetson (27-8), Utah State (15-16) and Marist (27-7).

Larry Tidwell, a former BU assistant coach (1992-98), will bring his UT-Pan American squad to the Ferrell Center on Wednesday, Dec. 3. The Broncs, 14-16 last season, are coming off their best season in program history.

Baylor will hit the road for the second time when it travels to Ole Miss for a Sunday, Dec. 7, contest. BU will then return home for two games, taking on Idaho on Wednesday, Dec. 10 and Stephen F. Austin on Sunday, Dec. 14. Idaho was 25-9 last season while Stephen F. Austin is coming off a 23-13 campaign.

Two games in Florida mark BU's final non-conference road trip. The Lady Bears will take on Syracuse and Michigan State, both 23-10 last season, in the Florida Sunshine Tournament in Orlando. Baylor will face Syracuse on Friday, Dec. 19 and Michigan State on Saturday, Dec. 20.

The Lady Bears will close out their non-conference schedule by hosting Prairie View A&M on Monday, Dec. 29.

Mulkey is entering her 15th season as BU head coach and, in just 14 seasons, has attained 404 career victories and ranks No. 2 among the winningest active Division I head coaches (.825) and No. 4 all-time by percentage. She has guided the Lady Bears to 13 NCAA Tournaments, winning the NCAA national crown in 2005 and 2012.



BU returns three starters off last season's 32-5 squad that advanced to the NCAA Championship Elite Eight despite losing four 2013 starters. This year's returning starters include Big 12 Freshman of the Year Nina Davis, a 5-11 post, who averaged 15.0 points and a team-leading 8.9 rebounds a contest. Also returning as a starter in the post will be 6-4 senior Sune Agbuke (5.9 ppg/7.6 rpg). Junior point guard Niya Johnson will start again after averaging 5.3 points, 6.6 assists and posting a nation's-best 4.0 assist/turnover ratio.

Baylor also returns a trio of guards who have starting experience and could join the regular starting lineup this season. Sophomore Imani Wright averaged 5.3 points and 1.7 rebounds a game while sophomore Ieshia Small tallied 3.1 points and 1.5 rebounds a contest. Alexis Prince, after undergoing surgery last season and receiving a medical redshirt, averaged 6.3 points and 2.3 rebounds in the four games she participated in. Also returning are posts Khadijiah Cave and Kristina Higgins. Cave, a sophomore, averaged 5.6 points and 5.1 rebounds a contest while Higgins, a 6-5 junior, tallied 4.0 points and 3.8 rebounds a game. Chardonae Fuqua', a junior forward, tallied 1.7 points and 0.7 rebounds as a sophomore.

Baylor welcomes three newcomers, all freshman, to the program, including Micayla Buckner (6-3, post), Dekeiya Cohen (6-2, forward) and Australian Kristy Wallace (5-11, guard).

The full 2014-15 Lady Bear schedule will be announced at a later date. Season renewals begin July 24. For updates throughout the offseason, follow @BaylorWBB on Twitter.

Online Store